Ortega-MacMillian House
Pardes Segui MacMillan House
224 St. George Street
St. Augustine, FL

HABS No FLA-124
1st Spanish Period
Address: 224 St. George Street, St. Augustine, St. Johns County, Florida.

Present Owner: Mr, and Mrs, William K. Moeller,

Present Use: To be restored as a residence.

Statement of Significance: The Ortega-MacMillan House is a fine, typical St. Augustine domestic structure with an 17th
century coquina masonry first story, and an early 19th century frame second story and gable roof. No known important
historic events occurred in this house. Two separate historic accounts dated 1962 and 1963 are included in the Historic
American Buildings Survey report since each compliments and adds new information to the other.
A further note dated 1965 indicates the restoration program in progress.

PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION
REPORT #1
A. Physical History: The historical site of the Ortega-MacMillan house can "be successfully located after the
American acquisition of Florida (1&21), but it is not clearly limited and exposed before 1820. Until the American Period,
St. Augustine property was not carefully described nor clearly measured because of the differing measuring systems
that were employed by the Spanish and British occupants of the old city. Archaeology and architectural history may later
more effectively cooperate to locate boundary lines and foundation sites accurately.

Although the evidence of coquina masonry in the ground floor suggests that the MacMillan house has at least a 1760
origin, it is exceedingly difficult to determine the form or style of the house that existed on the site in that era.
Unfortunately, the 1764 Juan Elixio de la Puente Man shows two houses and less definitely a third house which
apparently may have occupied the historic site. All the houses are described by Puente as being stone houses,
Nevertheless, comparative measurements of the lot frontage from the Puente key and present location of the MacMillan
lot seem to suggest that "Ortega House" occupied the approximate site of the present historic building. The James
Moncrief and the John De Solis Maps of 1765 also show three juxtaposed houses on the site instead of the farther
spaced dwellings of the Puente Map, By 1788 only one large masonry house appears on the historic location according
to the 1788 Mariano de la Rocque Map. Other late eighteenth and early nineteenth century descriptions such as the
Don Juan Nepomuceno de Quesada Property Assessment of .1791 and the 1800 Tax Assessment also refer to the
house as a rubble work-masonry or coquina structure. Thereafter, historical descriptions of the property usually only
recorded the boundaries of the lot on which the historic edifice rested.

Because Rocque's Map, which usually carefully mentions the number of floors every listed building possessed, did not
mention a second floor, and because the architectural examination of the building revealed that the wood frame second
floor and attic portions of the structure were constructed c. 1815-25 it is possible to assume that the building did not
achieve its two floor status before the American period. The downstairs was probably remodeled during the
mid-nineteenth century. Architectural study thus suggests that the building was a one story masonry house through the
first Spanish (1565-1763) and English (1763-83) periods of history.

1. Original and subsequent owners:*
From an unknown date to 1764 Don Juan de Parades (House 218)**

Don Luisa de Ortega (House 219)

Antonio Lopes Chapus (House 220)

(Juan Elixio de la Puente Map and Index of St, Augustine, Florida, in 1764 .

*This inventory and history of owners concerns the probable owners who lived on the probable site of the Amey M.
MacMillan house. This research manifests that it is impossible to claim that all these owners lived in the house that bears
the present dwelling's architectural design. It is also essential to mention that the list is not necessarily complete. In the
British period, for example, only the names of Fish, Hawks, Walton and "Priest" are mentioned as owners of the
three houses and lots that seem to be near or on the site of the MacMillan house.

**House number 218 on the Puente map seems less likely to be on the present MacMillan house site than the other two
houses which Puente lists as 219 and 220.

1765-88 A Priest (This Priest owned a house located in the approximate position of Puente House #218) Jesse Fish,
Enoch Hawks (These people owned a house in the approximate position of Puente house #219) Mr. Walton (This
person owned a house in the approximate position of Puente house #220) (
1765 James Moncrief Map)

1788 The Crown of Spain; Juan Aguilar was the occupant of the property. (
Mariana de la Rocque Map and Index of St.
Augustine in 1788)

1791 The Crown of Spain; Juan Aguilar was the occupant of the property. (
Juan Nepomuceno de Quesada Land
Inventory and Assessment of 1791
)

1800 The Crown of Spain; Juan Aguilar was the occupant of the property. (
Tax Assessment of 1800)

1803 Juan Rodriquez, or Juan T. Arnau,* (
Escrituras, December 23, 1803, p. 3l6v)

1807 Jose Ysnardy, (
St. Johns County Deed Book H, p. 71, March 21,1828)

1822 Bernardo Segui (
St. Johns County Deed Book Bll, p.104, April 12,1822)

From unknown date to 1828.. .Elisabeth Arnau (
St. Johns County Deed Book H, p, 71, March 21, 1828)
(
Escrituras, January 13, p. l84v)

1828 John J. Hedrick (
St. Johns County Deed Book H, p. 71, March 21, 1828)

1838 Jacob Henry (
St. Johns County Deed Book H. p.327, Dec.31, 1838)

1842 Samuel W. Henry and Emily and Lyman Southwick (
St. Johns County Deed. Book 0, p.491, Feb. 3, 1842)

1842 George Bartlett (
St. Johns County Deed Book 0, p.512, Sept. 4, 1842)

1843 Augustus Walker (
St. Johns County Deed Book 0, p.571, July 13, 1843)

x-Because of the difficulty of locating boundary lines in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries it is not
possible to prove that the present MacMillan property has evolved from the 1803 Arnau listing. It is possible that the
property owned by Juan Rodriguez and sold by the Segui family to Holmes Ammidown is today's MacMillan property.

1869 Manuella Corbett and Amos W. Corbett  (
St. Johns County Deed Book R, page 826, June 3, 1869)

1870 John F. Whitney (
St. Johns County Deed Book S, p, 274, April 22, 1870)

1873 Holmes Ammidown (
St. Johns County Deed Book U, page 24, April 1873)

From unknown date to 1833 Maria de Jesus Rodriguez Sequi* (a portion of the present MacMillan site)
(
St. Johns County Deed Book AAA, p. 535, May 5, 1883)

1883 Holmes Ammidown (Mr. Ammidown occupied the Segui property, too.) (
St. Johns County Deed Book AM. p. 535,
May 5, 1883)

1883 Henry Philips Ammidown (St. Johns County Testamentary listing, March 19, 1883)

1935 Amey M. MacMillan (
St. Johns County Deed Book 107, Page 247, March 23, 1933)

(The historical research for this report was extracted from the property transfer records of the St. Johns County Record
Archives, the Carnegie Record files and other library sources of the St. Augustine Historical Society, and the historic
files of the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission.)

^Because of the difficulty of locating boundary lines in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries it is not
possible to prove that the present MacMillan property has evolved from the 1803 Arnau listing. It is possible that the
property owned by Juan Rodriguez and sold by the Segui family to Holmes Ammidown is today's MacMillan
property.

2. Date of erection: The exact date of erection is unknown; the house in its present form was probably completed
in the early nineteenth century, c. 1825.

3- Architect, builder: The architect and/or builder of the MacMillan house remains unknown.

4. Original plans: The original plans of the house are not available.

5. Notes on alterations and additions: The history of this building indicates that it has undergone several major
alterations and renovations. From a late eighteenth century coquina masonry, one floor dwelling the present
two-and-one-half-story building has evolved through a history of architectural transformations. In the early
nineteenth century, c. 1825, the wood frame second story and attic portions of the structure (as well as the fireplaces)
were added to the eighteenth century one floor building. Since that date the building has probably remained generally in
its early nineteenth century form except for modern lighting and plumbing facilities.

6. Old views: There are late nineteenth and early twentieth century photographs of the edifice available in local historic
and preservation society files.

B. Sources of Information: Most of this research was drawn from the Land and Deed Records of the St, Johns County
Archives, the maps, Spanish records, and Carnegie File house documents of the St. Augustine Historical Society
and the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission.

C. Likely sources not yet investigated: The University of Florida's P. K. Yonge Library's Stetson collection, Lockey
Collection, and British Colonial Records could offer more material relevant to the history of this house and other
St. Augustine historic houses. The East Florida Papers collection in the Library of Congress, and the Bahama
Islands Colonial records might likewise offer information pertaining to St. Augustine historic houses and sites.

Prepared by the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission
August 1962.

REPORT #2
The following narrative account of the Ortega-MacMillan House referred to as "Rocque 226" is extracted from Vol. 9 of
Notes in Anthropology (a full bibliographical listing follows this excerpt):

INTRODUCTION
"The Rocque 226 house that is now standing at 224 St. George Street in block 36 of lot 3 of St, Augustine had been
referred to by the people of St. Augustine as the McMillan House or the Ortega House, This house was purchased in
May, 1963, by Mr, and Mrs William K. Moeller for a residence. They are restoring it to the A.D. 1823 period rather than
to an earlier period, due to the fact that probably at this time the second story was added.

"The house was measured and studied by architectural students from the University of Florida in 1960 for the Historic
American Buildings Survey. Their studies presented the building as it was before the furred walls and the relatively
recent wooden floors had been removed. The archaeological work and architectural observations made in 1963
were after these features had been removed. Also, Mr* and Mrs, Moeller kindly allowed us to dig through the tabby
floors and remove sections of walls when it was necessary to trace door sills that had been sealed when a doorway had
been changed.

"This project was under the sponsorship of the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission with
the labor being furnished by students from Florida State University who were taking a course in archaeological field
techniques." History of the Rocque 226 House at No. 224 St, George St. St. Augustine, Florida.

"The
first record we have of this house is the Mariano de la Rocque map of April 25, 1788.* "Rocque placed this house
on Block 35} numbered it 226, and described it as a 'masonry house with a tile roof, in bad condition, and both the
house and lot owned by the Crown. Occupied by Juan Aguilar, a settler from the Canary Islands,

"In 1790 Governor Quesada had prepared a list of properties of the Crown, showing the houses and lots and the
appraisal price, numbering this property 253 which was described as a 'rubblework masonry house with lot of the King,
occupied by Juan de Aguilar, bounded on the north by (Juan Francisco) Arnau, on the west by marsh lands:, east by the
street.

"*We have been unable to identify the present house at 224 St. George Street with any of the structures on this site as
shown on the Juan Eligio de la Puente Map of 1764."

Appraisal follows:
                                                                                                                                           Reales
23 1/2 (varas)N-S x 90 v, at 1/4 real per Square vara                                                                528 3/4

Rubblework masonry walls 56 x 4 x 1/3 v at 1 1/2 real per square vara                                      448

Rubblework masonry walls 4 divisions 20 x 4 x 1/3 v, at 1 1/2 real per square vara                   120  

For chimney and tile                                                                                                                   120

For woodwork of the doors, windows, floor and roof.                                                                  200
                                                                                                                                         1416 3/4

"A public sale was held on April 8, 1791. The purchasers gave security to repair the houses in one year, and to pay 5%
per annum interest on the amount of their purcheses [sic]. In the
East Florida Papers, Escrituras, for the year 1791,
page 117, the following entry appears:

"Mortgage, April 29. Mateo Guadarrama bid in for Juan Rodriquez, house and lot listed as No. 253, which he now
mortgages for Rodriquez as pledge for payments.

"It might be explained that Juan Aguilar, the occupant of the house, was the father-in-law of Juan Rodriguez, the
purchaser.  

"For various reasons, a number of the purchasers refused to make the required payments, and as a result, on June 17,
1801, the King issued an order that the amounts due to he remitted and title of possession be issued to them by the
Governor.

"On December 23, 1803, Governor \Vhite issued title to Don Juan Rodriguez to the house and lot No. 253, Block 35,
obligation of 29 April, 1791; measuring front N-S 23 varas, side E-W 90 varas; front which is east the Street of the Old
Church (St. George Streets); west by the marsh (Cordova Street); south by house of the deceased Don Miguel Ysnardy.
This entry from the
Escrituras, 1803, page 3l6v. is corroborated by an entry in a document called the 'Quesada
Supplemental List' which states:

'This day was issued by this Government title of possession and ownership in perpetuity of the above house and lot in
favor of Don Juan Rodriguez, in virtue of the Royal Cedula of 17 June 1801, remitting to those in debt for quit rents, the
payment of the capital and rents for the houses and lots they acquired when restored to the Royal domain.
St. Augustine, December 23, 1803.'

"In a genealogy compiled by Mrs. Eleonor P. Barnes, copy of which is in the files of the St. Augustine Historical Society, it
is stated that Juan Aguilar, who was living in the house in 1788, was the father of Francisca de Aguilar, the wife of Juan
Rodriguez. Their daughter Dionisia Rodriguez, "born in St. Augustine October 16, 1788, later married Bernardo Jose
Luis Segui, also a native St. Augustinian, born November 2, 1784. His parents were Bernardo Segui, Sr. and
Agueda Villalonga.

"In Deed Book B-L, page 104,
St. Johns County Records, the following sale is recorded:

'Bernardo (Jose) Segui to Pedro Miranda, with power of attorney (or executor) of Dona Francisca de Aguilar (his
mother-in-lav/), a house of stone bounded east by St. George Street, west by the marsh, north by heirs of Francisco
Arnau, south by lot of Don Bartolome de Castro y Ferriera, granted to Don Juan Rodriguez, deceased husband of the
deceased (Dona Francisca de Aguilar),*

"The Abstract shows that on May 3, 1823, Bernardo Segui issued three Promissory Notes totalling $1,055.62 which he
secured by a mortgage covering his share of the estate of his father Bernardo Segui, Sr. It is possible that these funds
were borrowed to build the second floor addition to the house. However, this is merely conjecture. The notes were not
paid, and judgment was secured against Bernardo Segui which was assigned to his mother Agueda Villalonga Segui
and who apparently paid up the balance due to protect her interest in her husband's estate. "We are somewhat at a loss
regarding the Segui deed to Pedro Miranda in 1822 because in 1834 the Clements Survey lists the previous owner as
John Rodriguez and the contemporary owner as the heirs of John Rodriguez. Furthermore, in 1840, the Abstract
shows a mortgage by Bernardo Segui and Dionisia, his wife, to the Southern Life Insurance and Trust Company for
$200 secured by an undivided fifth interest in Dionisia's father's estate, particularly the property confirmed to him on
December 23; 1803 by Governor White. The property seems to have remained in the Segui family until August 4, 1882,
when it was transferred to Holmes Ammidown by Warranty Deed from Y/illiam M. Dallam who had obtained title
through Commissioner's Sale to pay off the Segui heirs. (Deed Book AAA, pages 199, 200 and 206, St. Johns County
Records Office).

Quit Claim deeds were also obtained from Segui heirs and their descendants.

"Colonel Andrew T. MacMillan and his family occupied the house for over fifty years as tenants. He came from New
England in the early 1880's and moved his family into the old yellow house at 224 St. George Street. 'The drawing room
on the second floor was a picture in blue and white. The v/hite doors had light blue panels. The walls were white but the
ceiling showed a lovely blue. In the gardens at the west of the house rows of the bitter sour orange, the true Seville
orange, hung heavy with golden fruit and the grounds extended to Maria Sanchez Creek, where the MacMillan
children coaxed, many little fish from the shallow waters The front entrance was (originally) through a door opening off
St. George Street directly into the room used for a formal dining room. Now this door has been closed. The middle
window on the east side of the house is in place of the entrance door

'Under the wood floors is the hard packed rock floor that preceded wood in most houses. When an attempt was made to
put electric wiring into the house 7 contractors were unable to get through the huge wood beams over the doors. Finally,
they worked through the coquina.

'A small almost circular stairway lead from a small room on the second floor to the unfinished space, making a third floor.
Because of his large family, Colonel MacMillan had these inconvenient stairs taken out and moved to another place to
provide better access to the third floor which was large enough to allow four good-sized sleeping rooms. .... 'Four
fireplaces, one in the dining room and one in the library on  the ground floor, and two above in the drawing room and an
adjoining bedroom, were the only means of heating and until recent years no additional heating arrangements were
used. These fireplaces have that peculiar capacity for throwing out warmth that old fireplaces provide where ever they
still remain in the city.

'The MacMillans had spent their first winter in St. Augustine in the old house at No. 56 Marine Street (the Jones House)
which was right in the then social centre of the city, the Barracks and army official life gathering many visitors into a
group in the section.

'When it was decided they would make St. Augustine their home, much heirloom furniture from their Rhode Island home
was shipped down and found admirable setting in the old house. The girls of the family became leaders in the younger
set. People of note who came to St. Augustine found a congenial atmosphere in the MacMillan home, . . 'The old
coquina well curb had a wood frame above it from which suspended the bucket that brought up such fine water. Not a
flavor of sulphur, Miss Amey MacMillan said, as she recalled the water was always cool.' St. Augustine Record, 4 July
1937*

"And after the MacMillans rented the old house for more than 50 years it at last became MacMillan property in 1935
when on March 23, Henry Phillip Ammidown, a descendant of Holmes Ammidown, deeded the property to Miss Amey M.
MacMillan. Upon her death in 1961 the house was inherited by her niece and nephew Mrs. Alice S. Nisula and Douglas
M. Stewart.

"Mr. and Mrs. William King Moeller of St. Augustine purchased the property in May, 1963.

"We wish to express our thanks to Mrs. Doris C. Wiles of the St. Augustine Historical Society staff for permission to
incorporate her historical notes in this publication. "

"ARCHAEOLOGY AND ARCHITECTURE
"Method of Excavation:
"The test pits were excavated in arbitrary six inch levels. All of those inside the house, except numbers 1, 8 and 9,[for
plan indicating these pits and rooms labeled "A," "B," etc. see HABS photocopy of the plan originally included in this
archaeological account.] were in the areas where a good substantial tabby floor was present. The dirt from test pits 1-5
was sifted but due to a lack of time the material from the remaining trenches was not sifted. In all
cases the pits were dug to sterile soil.

Floors: Tabby: The tabby floor in Room A was composed of a fine hard grade of tabby 0.10 foot in thickness. The
excavation in the northwestern corner of this room failed to reveal any other tabby floors at a lower level. The surface of
the tabby floor had been oil treated and its whole area was compact with no worn areas at or between the doorways.
This indicated in addition to being a well made floor, that it was in use for a relatively short period of time or was used
by a very limited number of people.

"These floors were dated by means of artifacts, and architectural details.

"The area originally designated as Room D was later divided into Room Dl and Room D2, as a coquina wall was found
7.50 feet north of doorway 1 Therefore Room.Dl occupied the area from doorway 1.

"The surface of the tabby floor in Room Dl was almost completely destroyed. The remaining portion indicated that this
floor had been a fair grade of tabby. In Room D2 the tabby was of good quality and its surface showed little sign of wear.

"Wooden: The evidence In Rooms B, C and D indicated that there was a wooden floor 0.30 feet above the tabby floor. In
Room C the wooden floor was raised to bring It level with the floors in Rooms B and D. There was no evidence in Room
A that a wooden floor existed at this level. However, due to the position of the face molding of the fireplace it was
apparent that a floor was present at the same level as the floors of the other rooms.

-It was indeterminable whether the partition wall between Rooms C and D was present when the first wooden floor above
the tabby was laid. This wall was definitely removed prior to 1882 when a stud wall was built 4.30 feet to the south.

"In Room A the most recent floor of wood v/as still present at the time archaeological work was begun. This floor was
0.56 feet above the tabby floors in both Rooms A and D.

"The abstract of the property indicated that a $1128 mortgage was placed against the property in 1823. The loan was
probably obtained for remodeling of the house. This fact plus stylistic architectural evidence shows that the second story
was added at this time. The sleepers and the moulding under the stairs in Room D were clearly tied to a wooden floor.
An analysis of the cultural materials found below the tabby indicated that this floor was laid during the 1763-
1783 period.

"The surface of the tabby floor in Room B was destroyed and/or badly worn when a wooden floor was laid on its surface.
The tabby was cut in order to receive the wooden floor sleepers.

"The tabby floor of Room C was 0.31 feet below the tabby floor level of Rooms A, B and D, The quality of this floor was
much inferior to that of the other rooms.

Doorways: Doorway Number 1 was located in the south wall of Room D and was the only doorway on the south side of
the house. Architectural evidence consisting of a wooden sill contemporary with the first wooden floor above the tabby
and the fact that there was no evidence of any jamb notches, indicated that this doorway was made in 1823- Doorway
Number 2 was located in the west wall of Room D. Here there was no evidence of a sill trough or jamb notches and it
was evidently constructed in 1823 when the first wooden floor was laid.

"Doorway Number 3 was located between Rooms B and D. This doorway dates to the time of the pouring of the tabby
floor. The sill notch was 3.50 feet long and 0.45 foot wide. It was impossible to determine the sill height. The jamb was
7.10 feet high over all. The header notch was O.40 foot by 0.25 foot by 0.32 foot. The doorway had a square reveal.
"Doorway 4 was the opening between Room D2 and Room A. There is evidence of three door widths in doorway 4. The
earliest of these had square reveals, except for a 0.15 taper on the north jamb. The first doorway (4A) predates the
tabby floor as is evident by the plaster on the jamb which extends below the tabby and the fact that the tabby was not
poured against it. The second doorway (4B) was contemporary with the tabby floor and square reveals. The sill trough
for this door was located on the west side. The third doorway (4C) dates from about 1860. It had beveled reveals and its
jamb and sill were also on the west side. The width of the second doorway (4B) was reduced 0.60 foot on the north side.
When the third doorway (4C) was installed both jambs were chopped to give beveled reveals. The height of doorway 4A
was 7.71 feet. The door height of doorways 4B and 4G was 7.0 feet.

"Doorway 5 was the doorway from Room C to the outside of the house. The sill of doorway 5 was elevated 0,30 foot
above the surface of the tabby floor and dates from the time of the laying of the tabby. This doorway may have been
modified during the A.D. 1823 remodeling of the house, however, no such evidence was present. This doorway was
made narrower in A.D. 1883 by closing in a portion of the north jamb area with bricks.

"The height of the door was 8.50 feet over all.

"The doorway between Room A and Room C was designated Doorway

6. There was only evidence of two doorways in this area. The first (6A.) had a jamb set in center of the wall. This door
may predate the tabby floor since it appears that a badly damaged sill trough occurred below the tabby floor. This was
filled with rubble to partially support the sill that was contemporary with the tabby floor. This door had an over all height
of 7.07 feet. The actual opening was about 4 inches less due to the header. This door had a tapered reveal on the east
side of the jamb. The second door (6B) utilized the existing opening on the south side of the doorway and was therefore
not damaged except where it was cut to install the transom. The south jamb was chopped back to give the tapered reveal
necessary for the 1883 doorway. This was a doorway with dimensions of seven feet by three feet. The overall height of
doorway (6B) including the transom was eight feet, eight inches from the wooden floor.

"In the east wall of Room A at the time the work was started no door opening was present. This wall contained three
windows more or less evenly spaced. When some of the plaster was removed bricks were noted beneath the center
window of Room A. Further examination revealed "that the tabby floor continued under this brick plug and also under an
area to the north of the brick. This area had been filled with coquina rubble. When the material was removed it was
discovered that two doorways? dating from different time periods were present. The earlier doorway was designated 7A
and the later one as 7B. The 7B doorway dated from A.D. 1823.

-The north jamb of doorway 7A was 10.68 feet from the interior northeast corner of the room. This doorway was 4.70
feet wide and the south door jamb was removed when doorway 7B was constructed. The reveal of the north jamb was
slightly tapered outward 0.25 of a foot. Doorway 7B was 4.10 feet Y/ide and its north jamb was more tapered than that of
doorway 7A.

"The architectural chronological sequence of events for this area was clear. Initially doorway 7A was constructed to the
north of the center of the room before the tabby floor was poured. Later, in 1823, the doorway was relocated 1.45 feet
to the south and the space to the north was filled with coquina and mortar. At this time the opening was reduced in
width. Between 1823 and 1882 this doorway was closed with bricks and a window placed in this area.

"In front of doorway 7A and 7B coquina blocks were laid on a shell footing. These blocks were originally a part of the
entryway to the house, however, the extent of this feature was indeterminable due to  a city cement walk that overlay this
feature.

"Doorway S: Doorway 8 was located between Room G and Room D. There was evidence here of three distinct sills. The
earliest was a sill trough which was subsequently filled with a tabby floor patch. However, the holes for the jambs were
still present. The overall outside to outside width was four feet. The side jamb openings were 0.30 foot by 0.30 foot,

"The second sill was evidenced by an impression in the same tabby patch in the floor mentioned above. The western
end was marked by a single mortised impression 0.33 foot long and 0.08 foot wide (4 inches by 1 inch). The overall
length of this sill was 3.83 feet and its width was 0.50 foot. The estimated height was 0.33 foot. On the eastern side
there is a slight tendon impression in the tabby patch. Both sills 1 and 2 are contemporary with the tabby floors.

"Sill 3 was represented by a sill notch 0.50 foot above the jamb notch. This was the only remaining evidence of a
doorway that was contemporary with the first wooden floor above the tabby. This notch was 0.45 foot long and 0.25 foot
high.

"Unknown Architectural Features:
"In Room A circular holes had been drilled into the coquina 0.17 foot in diameter and filled with circular wooden plugs.
The holes occurred 1.00 foot above the tabby floor. These holes, used to fasten a plate, were evenly spaced along the
east wall and the eastern half of the north wall. The top coat of plaster on these walls stopped at 1.72' above the tabby
floor indicating the holes and plate postdate A.D. 1823.

"Fireplaces:
"Fireplace 1 in Room A and Fireplace 2 in Room B appear to have been constructed at the same time. These fireplaces
were installed when the house was remodeled and the second story added in A.D. 1823. Their base was laid on top of
the existing floors.

"The fireplace in Room C (fireplace number 3) was located in the west wall of the room. A brick hearth that had been cut
into the tabby floor would indicate the original hearth had burned out and was replaced by one of brick.

"Below the brick hearth and extending out beyond the firebox was a dressed coquina block footing 2.50 feet deep. The
same type of mortar was used in the footing as that found in the found in the footing below the north wall of Room C.
The stones used in the fireplace footing were larger than those used in the footing for the west wall of Room C and
probably were laid at the same time.

"The first floor walls were coursed squared rubble coquina masonry. The wall between Rooms A. and B had a footing
that was of square coursed rubble. This is the same type of footing that was present under all the walls excavated
except the north and east walls of Room A.

"The footing of the south wall of Room A butted the east wall of the structure but was not tied to the east wall of this
room. However, this wall was keyed to the east wall one- course above the footing, -there was no evidence of plaster on
the east wall extending beyond this juncture.

"Ceiling:
"The ceiling joists of Room A were mortised into the plate on the east wall. It is assumed that this occurred throughout
the building. However, since the lathing of the 1882 period was still in place during this investigation a complete
inspection could not be made. "The ceiling in the north section of Room A was partially white washed. This indicates that
at one time an attempt had been made to redecorate the ceiling but the white washing was not successful and after
painting about one-fourth of the room it was discontinued.

"Area"
"The north wall of the house extended westward from the house proper 6.00 feet (pi. 5a, Fig. 7B). It was assumed, due
to the nature of the erosion of this coquina wall, that this was a stall area. The west and south walls, if they existed, were
made of wood,

"Summary and Conclusions:
"The present first story of Rocque 226 was built between A.D., 1765 and A.D. 1788. The Puente map of 1764 shows a
house at the location of the Rocque 225 House (No. 220) and describes it as a ripio (tabby) house. The de Solis map of
1764 shows a small house which is probably the same as that mentioned by Puente.

"The Rocque map of 1788 shows a house (block 35; No. 226) of the same floor plan as the present building described
as a one story masonry structure with a tile roof in bad condition. Therefore, a date of 1780 seems reasonable due to
the fact that a house constructed of stone with a tile roof would probably not deteriorate during a shorter time period.
"From both architectural and archaeological evidence the earliest portion of the building was Room A. The tabby floor of
this room was laid down after a period of time when a wooden floor was present. The architectural features found in the
doorway

4 area indicate that  a door sill was present before the tabby was poured. A wooden rather than a dirt floor seems more
likely, since there was no evidence of a compacted dirt surface at this level. The jamb of doorway was of type typical of
the earlier type doors. Here the jamb was a recess in the middle of the wall rather than being flush,

"The footings for the north and east walls of Room A were composed of shell and mortar with small irregular coquina
fragments, A coursed squared rubble wall was laid on top of this footing. The footing of the north wall of Room C, an
extension of the north wall of Room A, had a footing of different character; This footing was made of shell, mortar and
squared rubble.

"The footings of the south and west wall of Room A were the same as the north wall of Room C.

"Under the tabby floor (test pit 2) were found artifacts -that date from the early part of the eighteenth century. It is of
interest to note that the common British type of ceramics and glass bottles of the last half of the eighteenth century were
not present. The artifacts were predominantly Spanish and included both barrel and flat roofing tile as well as a variety
of Majolica types."

From: Hale G. Smith and Robert H. Steinbach (St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission),
"Rocque 226,"
Notes in Anthropology, Vol. 9 (Tallahassee, Florida: The Florida State University, 1963), pp. 3-13.

REPORT #3
A restoration was undertaken on extensive interior alterations made in 196^-65. The drawings were made by Craig
Thorne, A.I.A, St. Augustine Florida; Meade and Sons were the general contractors.
Prepared by John C. Poppeliers
National Park Service
Architectural Historian
March 1965

PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION
A. General Statement
1. Architectural character:
The coquina masonry of the ground floor of this house has been dated as being prior to
1763. Architecturally, therefore, the house stands as a prime example of coquina construction of the first
Spanish period of St. Augustine (1559-1763). The wood frame second story and attic portions of the house,
together with the fireplaces, have been dated as c. 1825 and are interesting examples of the construction
of that period.

2. Condition of fabric; The condition of the house at present is fairly good. Recently there has been little maintenance,
however, and signs of deterioration are evident,

B. Description of Exterior
1. Number of stories
: Two.

2. Wall construction: Coquina masonry major first floor; wooden frame second floor and additions.

3. Layout: Rectangular.

4. Over-all dimensions: 40'~4 1/2" (four-bay front) x 30,-l".

5. Foundations: Not known; exterior walls continue below grade.

6. Porches: There is a wooden post and beam porch across the south and on both levels.

7. Chimneys: There is only one chimney. This is located in connection with interior partitions, is built of coquina, and
admits fireplaces into its north and south faces on both the ground floor and second floor levels.

8. Openings; doorways, doors, windows and shutters. The door and window openings in the coquina masonry are
interesting and are considered typical for the period. The openings are formed by cutting a bevel (approximately
30°) in the masonry jambs. The window and door frames are then set into these beveled openings. The openings in the
wooden frame portion of the house are not unusual in type or character. The window and shutter arrangement for this
house is unusual and interesting. The shutters have adjustable louvers, arranged in three panels. The top panel is
approximately 7" wide. The two remaining panels are equal in size and have the appearance of ordinary two-panel
shutters. The windows are so designed as to conform to the shutter arrangement, that is that the top portion of the
window may be let down to allow air to come through the top panel of the shutters. The bottom portion of the windows is
an ordinary single hung window.

The windows in this house are hung in two ways. On "the ground floor level the bottom portion of the windows, are sash
weight operated with metal straps replacing the usual sash cord, The top portion of the window is held in both the open
and shut position by pins. The windows on the second floor seem to he earlier than those on the ground floor, and
although the window shutter arrangement is the same as described above both the upper and lower portions are pin
operated.

There are only two light arrangements 12 light and 15 light, with the majority being 15-light windows.

9. Roof: The roof is a single gable with the ridge running north-south. There are no dormers. The roof covering
is asbestos cement shingles.

C. Description of Interior
1. Floor plans:
The first floor plan consists of three rooms a stair hall, and two later additions* The additions
consist of a bath-storage unit and a tool shed. Without the additions the house is a rectangle with its long axis running
north-south. There is a dividing wall on this north-south axis, thus dividing the rectangle into eastern and western
portions. The eastern portion is divided into a dining room on the north and a bedroom on the south, each with a
fireplace. The western portion is divided into a kitchen on the north and an entrance stair hall on the south. The tool
shed addition is to the west of the kitchen and the bath-storage addition is to the west of the entrance hall.

The second-floor plan consists of four rooms and a stair hall. Once again the plan is a rectangle with its axis running
north-south. There is a dividing partition on this axis. The eastern portion of the rectangle is divided into a living room
and bedroom, each with a fireplace.  The western portion is divided into a bath on the north, a stair hall in the center,
and a bedroom on the south. The second-story balcony runs across the entire south end and is entered through either
of the south bedrooms.

2. Stairways: There are two existing stairways. One stairway connects, in a single run, the ground-floor stair
hall to the second-floor stair hall. The second stairway, with winders, connects the second-floor stair hall to
the attic.

3. Flooring: The flooring is of varying widths and lengths of pine boards throughout.

4.
Wall and ceiling finish: Wall and ceiling finishes are lime plaster papered.

5. Doorways and doors: The window-doors leading from the second-floor south "bedrooms to the balcony are of
particular interest. These are a combination of single-hung windows and half doors. When the lower portion of the
window is closed the doors form the sill for the window unit. V/hen the lower portion of the v/indow is raised and
the half doors are opened , the resultant opening may be used as a doorway. There are window-length shutters on
the exterior.

6. Trim: The door and window trim consists of wooden members combined in a conservative but decorative design. This
trim is unusual in the deep undercuts that are used to form some of its curves.

7. Hardware: The only hardware of interest consists of a decorative brass door knocker., and interior door hinges,
which are decorative and probably date to the 1825 remodeling

8. Lighting: The electric lighting is not of unusual character or design. Conventional outlets and switches are used.

9. Heating: There is no heat source other than the fireplaces already discussed.

D. Site
1. Orientation:
The north wall of the house faces 3° west of true north. The house sits on a lot which is located one
block south of the main commercial street of the city. The area contains several shops, a commercial parking lot and an
Episcopal church and church hall. The building is on the west side of St. George Street with its east face directly on the
sidewalk line. Entrance to the house is gained DJ going through a gate into an open porch on the south end of the
house. From this there is an entrance into the ground floor stair hall. Once inside the property there is a yard which
extends to the west and south of the house,

2. Enclosures: A wooden fence encloses the property on the north, a wire fence along the east, south, and west.

3. Landscaping, gardens, etc.: The yard shows a profusion of plantings and undergrowth in no pattern or plan. The
over-all impression is one of neglect and disorder.

Prepared by William A. Stewart, Architect
St. Augustine Historical
Restoration and Preservation
Commission
August 1960
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1960
EAST (STREET) ELEVATION AND NORTH SIDE -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
February 1965
EAST (STREET) ELEVATION AND SOUTH SIDE -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Photographer: Jack E.Boucher
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1960
EAST (STREET) ELEVATION -
Ortega-MacMillan House, 224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County,
FL
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1960
EAST (STREET) ELEVATION AND SOUTH SIDE -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
February 1965
WEST (REAR) ELEVATION AT TIME OF RESTORATION -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine,
St. Johns County, FL
Photographer: Jack E. Boucher
February 1965
WALLS AND FIREPLACE, FIRST FLOOR, AT TIME OF RESTORATION -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Photographer: Jack E. Boucher
February 1965
FIRST FLOOR WINDOW -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine,
St. Johns County, FL
Photographer: Jack E. Boucher
Historic American Buildings Survey
Prime A. Beaudoin, Photographer
August 1960
FIRST FLOOR DOOR -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine,
St. Johns County, FL
February 1965
SECOND FLOOR FROM NORTHEAST (AT TIME OF RESTORATION) -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County, FL
Photographer: Jack E. Boucher
February 1965
SECOND FLOOR WINDOW -
Ortega-MacMillan House,
224 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, St. Johns County,
FL
Photographer: Jack E. Boucher
St. Augustine from 1920s to WWII
St. Augustine from WWII to
1960
Casa Amarylla
St. Augustine Rebounds
Sequi-Smith House
Villa Flora
Public Market
Arrivas House
Villa Rosa
Canova deMedicis House
Ximenez-Fatio House
Villa Zorayda
Gonzalez Alvarez House
Seavy House (Union General)
Warden Castle
Garcia Dummitt House
Don Pedro Horruytiner House
Huertas-Canova House
(Prince Morat House)
DeMesa-Sanchez House
Father Miguel O'Reilly House
Bishops House
Archtectural Styles and Periods
Gaspar Papy
Don Pedro Fornells
Reconstruction Properties
Sanchez-Burt House
Tovar House
Pardes Segui MacMillan House
Don Manuel Solana House
Structure List
     
Custom Search