Return to Dr. Bronson's History Page
Old City Gate
St. Augustine Florida
Pictures are from the Library of Congress

The gate was built in 1808. This replaced the wooden opening that had been placed there in 1739
called La Leche Gate. The engineer was Captain Manuel de Hita who recommended a masonry
replacement of the wood guard houses. The new gate was called the "Land Gate". . The two four foot
square coquina pillars frame an opening 12 feet wide. Each pillar is 14 feet high. The twin towers of
white masony were trimmed with red plaster and each roof was capped with a pomogranate the
symbol of fertility.