The statue of Juan Ponce de Leon is a copy of one at the Cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico (where Juan Ponce de Leon is buried.)
The original statue was made in New York in 1882 using the bronze from English cannons seized after the English attacked San Juan in 1792. C. Bupert was the sculptor.
In 1922 the City of San Juan allowed casts to be made of their sculpture by Gorham Manufacturing Company of New York. Dr. Andrew Anderson presented the statute to the City of St. Augustine as a gift on November 11 (Armistice Day), 1923.
The medium is bronze. The base is Dummerston granite. The sculpture is 5 ft 10 inches. The base is 6ft by 14 feet. The column is decorated with moldings and carvings. It is secured to the granite column with a brass stud and nut projecting through the base. The base of the statue is marked "Gorham co Foundry."
The base of the column is surrounded by three exposed concrete steps which are surrounded by a concrete poured-in-place sidewalk and curbing.
The front carving states: "The Discoverer of Florida Juan Ponce de Leon landed near this spot 1513. The back: "Presented to the City of St. Augustine by Andrew Anderson, M. D. 1923."
The statute is located in the square bounded by Cathedral Place and King Streets at the west end of the "Bridge of Lions."