St. Augustine Rebounds
1965-1990
ab urbe condita - 400 to 435
"The moving finger writes, and having writ moves on." Omar Khayyam

The Spanish Quarter
The Spanish Quarter called San Augustine Antiguo was created as a "living history" museum to demonstrate
everyday life in 1740s St. Augustine.

Airport Authority
In 1964 the Airport Authority was created.

St. Augustine Amphitheater
Construction of the St. Augustine Amphitheater was made possible by the sale of $1,000 bonds which brought
in $128,000. Chair seating was obtained at minimal cost in New York City by corporation director Mr. W.I.
Drysdale from the Polo grounds. Paul Green’s symphonic outdoor drama “
Cross and Sword” opened  in June
1965 for a run of many years. In 1973 “
Cross and Sword” was designated Florida’s Official State Play.

Pan American Symposium on Restoration and Preservation of Historic Monuments
Pan American Symposium on Restoration and Preservation of Historic Monuments was held in June 1965. It
was attended by delegates from most of the Latin American countries. Joint sponsors were The National Trust,
the Pan American Union and The National Quadricentennial Commission.

Pan American Center Dedicated
On September 4, 1965 the Pan American Center (El Centro Panamericano) was dedicated by Dr. José Mora,
Secretary General of the OAS and Ambassador Juan Plate, Chairman of the OAS Council. Contributions to the
project came from General Motors, Ford, Humble-Esso, Gulf, Texaco, AT&T, Pan American Airways, W.R.
Grace Company. The majority of the building’s interior space was devoted to an exhibition of modern art
assembled from eighteen of the Latin American countries. It was to be succeeded by exhibits of Treasures from
Pre-Colombian Peru, and of Popular Arts of Mexico. The United States was represented at the inaugural
ceremonies by U.S. Senator Spessard L. Holland, of Florida.

Casa del Hidago Dedicated
September 5, 1965 Lt. Gen. Camilo Alonso Vega, Minister of the Interior in Spain, dedicated that country’s
Casa del Hidalgo. An Hispanic Garden featuring a statue of Queen Isabel connected the OAS and Spanish
buildings. Other Spanish dignitaries present were Don Angel Sagaz, Director General of North American
Relations in the Foreign Office, Ambassador to the United States the Marques de Merry del Val, and Alvaro
Armada, Conde (Count) de Revillagigedo, of Gijón in Asturias, linear descendant of Pedro Menéndez de Avilés
and holder of the hereditary title of Adelantado [Governor] de la Florida. The United States was represented by
U.S. Secretary of the Interior Stewart Udall.

Historic Preservation Board reviews house documentation
In 1965 the Historic Preservation board did a review of the Ximenez-Fatio house documentation (from the 1937
material and the 1962 St. Augustine Historical Society material. It would be done again within another 7 years.
They also did the
Don Pedro Horruytiner House.

National Historic Preservation Act
In 1966 the U. S. Congress enacted the National Historic Preservation Act creating the National Register of
Historic Places and called for the systematic appraisal of historic architectural, archaeological and cultural
resources of each state. In Florida the State Historic Preservation Officer was the Director of the Division of
Historical Resources. On October 15, 1966 the
Castillo de San Marcos was placed on the National Register of
Historic Places and  
Fort Matanzas was added to the nation register as 66000098.

Great Cross
Construction of the Great Cross, bridge and church at Mission Nombre de Dios began in 1964 under the
direction of the Boston architectural firm of Maginnis, Walsh and Kennedy. Archbishop Hurley, assisted by his
principal fund raiser Monsignor James Heslin, succeeded in garnering $3,750,000 for both the Mission and
Cathedral projects. The Great Cross was dedicated on November 20, 1966 by Casimiro Morcillo, Archbishop
of Madrid, with participation by the Rector of Trinity Episcopal Church, the Pastor of Memorial Lutheran
Church, the Methodist Choir of St. Augustine, the Florida Memorial College Choir, and the Stetson University
Concert Band. On October 30, 1966 the Great Cross was dedicated at the Mission of Numbre de Dios. The
cross is 208 feet tall and weighs 70 tons.

End of the Ponce de Leon Hotel (Difficile est longum subito deponere amorem - It is difficult to
suddenly give up a long love. Catullus)
The 1967 season is the final one for the old Ponce de Leon hotel.
The final dinner dance was held on April 5, 1967.

St. Augustine Preservation Board
In 1968 with state reorganization the St. Augustine Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission became
the Historic Augustine Preservation Board which was placed under the administration of the Florida Department
of State.

Between 1975 and 1980 five buildings on the east side of north St. George Street were restored or
reconstructed.  Since 1959 50 projects had been completed.

The World Was Changing for the Railroad
In 1968 passenger service came to an end for the Florida East Coast Railway. The railroad that was built to
bring wealthy northerners to Florida became a strictly commercial line. It had been replaced by air travel and
automobiles. The process was accelerated now that removed pieces of the railroad one by one from the City of
St. Augustine.

Beginning of Flagler College
The doors of the old Ponce de Leon hotel were reopened as Flagler college in the fall of 1968 by Dr. F. Roy
Carlson the President of Mount Ida Jr. College in Newton Mass. They had purchased the old building for 1.5
million dollars. Biltmore Campbell Smith Restoration firm was paid $19 million to renovate and retrofit, 2 million
to restore dinning hall. The college had tough times until a reorganization in 1971 removed the 1.5 million debt for
the building and allowed new individuals to expand the vision of Flagler to a four year, independent college under
chairman Lawrence Lewis. Most interesting college professor -- Richard Boone, "Have Gun Will Travel" as a
drama professor. The college was founded as a four-year women's college.

St. Johns Welfare Federation and Nursing Care
In 1969 the St. Johns Welfare Federation was given the responsibility of managing the Buckingham Smith skilled
nursing facility.

St. Augustine Town Plan Historic District, Cathedral, Gonzalez-Alvarez House and Llambias House
St. Augustine Town Plan Historic District  was created as a National Register of Historic Places on April 15,
1970. The district is bounded by Grove Ave, the Matanzas River, and South and Washington Streets. It contains
220 historic buildings, 1 structure and 1 object. The NRHP number is 70000847. The district is comprised of
113 acres.

On April 15, 1970 the
Cathedral was placed on the National Register of Historic Places as 70000844,  the
Gonzalez-Alvarez House as number 70000845 and the Llambias House as 70000846.

Flagler Receives a New President
In 1970-1971 Flagler College was reorganized as a coeducational college and Dr. William L. Proctor was
appointed President.

St. Photos Shrine (Avero House)
In April of 1971 the Greek Orthodox Church purchased the property where the Rev. Dr. Camps ministered to
his parish. The  building was made into the St. Photos Shrine to celebrate the founding of the Orthodox Church
in America. It was dedicated on April 3, 1971 by Archbishop Lakovas.

National Register of Historic Places
In 1971 the part of St. Augustine that was within the old walled city was placed on the National Register of
Historic Places as a Landmark District. This district incorporates the boundaries of the "Old Walled City" of
Spanish and British Colonial St. Augustine. This area represented the limits of colonial development from 1565
to 1821. The City of St. Augustine followed up by creating 5 municipal historical districts and enacted an
ordinance to control architectural modifications and govern commercial uses of the buildings. On February 24,
1971 the old
Alcazar Hotel was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. On June 13, 1972 the Avero
House was placed on the National Register. On September 10, 1971 the
Horruytiner House was added to the
register as number 71001014  Rodriguez-Avero-Sanchez House number 71001015 was added to NRHP: April
16, 1971.

Sanchez Powder House Site
Sanchez Powder House Site was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 14, 1972 as number
72001461.

Spanish Coquina Quarries
Spanish Coquina Quarries  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on February 23, 1972  It's
located on State Road A1A in Anastasia State Park The NRHP number is 72001462.

ECHO House
In 1973 the ECHO House was established. It was done through the generosity of Mrs. Clarissa Anderson Gibbs
in memory of her father, the late Dr. Andrew Anderson. The project started at 100 Central Ave. (M L King
today). It would provide for the Lincolnville community tutoring, a branch library, an arts and crafts outlet,
alcoholism counseling, group meetings and general counseling services. Mrs. Rosalie Gordon-Mills was the
President-director with Mrs. Eli Calhoun, Mrs. Carrie Carswell, Rev. Thomas B. DeSue, Dr. James J. Devito,
Mrs. Clarrissa A. Gibbs, Rev. Msgr. James Heslin, Dr. Ronald F. Jackson, A Malcolm Jones, Otis Mason and
Rev. David Redding on the board. It remains an unfulfilled dream today.

Ximenez-Fatio House
Ximenez-Fatio House  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on July 25, 1973 with number
73002135.

Flagler College Accredited
In 1973-74 Flagler College received initial accreditation from the Commission on colleges of the Southern
Association of Colleges and schools.

Historic Architectural Review Board
This board was formed in 1974 to enforce the municipal ordinance governing historic districts. The City
Commission appointed this board to review proposals for renovation and new construction.

Athalia Lindsley's Murder
January 23, 1974 was the great unsolved murder of Athalia Lindsley. Athalia was a model and showgirl who had
married the former mayor of St. Augustine John Lindsley. She was murdered on the front lawn of her house by
someone with a machete. The accused was Alan G. Stanford, the manager of St. Johns County. He was not
convicted by a jury trial. If you are interested in this story you'll want to read
Bloody Sunset in St. Augustine.

O'Reilly House
O'Reilly House was added to the National Historic Register on October 15, 1974 as number 74002192.

Statue of Father Camps
In 1975 on the site of the former Bishop's house next to the Cathedral a statue of Father Camps was erected.
Dedicated on April 24, 1975, the statue was executed in Barecolona, Spain by Joseph Viladomat.

Joseph Viladomat was a sculptor born in Manlleu, Spain. He graduated from the Escuela de Bellas Artes de
Barcelona and traveled throughout Europe. The statue weights a ton.

Ponce de Leon Hall (Flagler Hotel) listed in National Register of Historic Places (May 6, 1975 as
number 75002067) -
The Hotel Ponce de Leon has a high degree of integrity, which is especially remarkable in
light of its age, historic function, and semi-tropical location. Continuity of ownership and operation are significant
factors in its preservation. Flagler interests continued the hotel operation for 79 years, and specifically chose an
adaptive use that would preserve the historic hotel and its grounds,
Henry M. Flagler’s first extraordinary legacy
in the state of Florida. Lawrence Lewis, Jr., Flagler’s grandnephew and founder of Flagler College, envisioned
the school as a memorial to Flagler.

Flagler College opened in the former
Hotel Ponce de Leon in 1968 without significant alterations to the building,
launching an ambitious, long-term rehabilitation and restoration program in 1975. Rehabilitation work began with
the dormitory rooms (the original guest rooms), followed by restoration of the towers (1978-1979), the Grand
Parlor (1982-1987), the Dining Room (1986-1992, by Biltmore Campbell Smith of Asheville, North Carolina),
and the Rotunda (1991-1995). In 1981-1982, major rehabilitation of the former service building, now known as
Kenan Hall, provided the college with modern classrooms and office space for faculty members. Handicapped
accessibility and fire safety modifications, including fire escapes at the southeast and southwest corners of the
main hotel building and a handicapped ramp along the west wall of the courtyard, were in keeping with the
building’s historic character and the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation. Balconies, roofs, the
lantern  on the dome, windows, and floors have also been stabilized, rehabilitated, or restored. In 2001, the
perimeter wall was restored, and the College recently qualified for a grant to rehabilitate the Boiler House and
the adjacent
Artists’ Studios. The rehabilitation plans for this project were developed in consultation with the
Florida State Historic Preservation Office, and fully comply with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for
Rehabilitation and Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings. (from National Park Service Documentation).

Markland
December 6, 1978 Markland was added to the National Register of Historic Places as number 78003080.

Grace United Methodist Church
Grace United Methodist Church was added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 29, 1979
as number 79003132.

St. Augustine Comprehensive Plan
In 1980 the City Commission adopted the St. Augustine Comprehensive Plan. This addressed the need to
complete an "Historic and Scenic Preservation Assessment Element."

Historic Sites and Buildings Survey
In September 1980 the report was issued of the Historic sites and buildings survey. The survey included all
buildings on the 1930 Sanborn map giving it a 50 year rule. The purpose of the survey was to create an
authoritative data bank for those agencies required to comply with federal preservation regulations. The criteria
used was the same criteria for placement of historic sites on the National Register of Historic Places. The
coordinator was Michael C. Scardaville. Along with him on the research team was William r. Adams, David
Nolan, Paul Weaver, Karen Harvey, Roberta Butler, Joseph Cushanas, Michael DeStefano, H. H. Stackhouse.
The photographers were Brian Bowman and Thomas Price. Graphics were Robert H. Steinbach and Les
Thomas.  2,406 buildings, 17 structures and 21 objects were surveyed in the two year project.

St. Augustine Lighthouse
St. Augustine Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters  were added to the National Register of Historic Places on
March 19, 1981 as number 81000668.

After 56 years, Bob Lovett Leaves His Hastings Grocery (St. Augustine Record Jan. 2, 1982)
"To Bob Lovett, it seems "not so long ago" that he and his uncle bought the store. But that was 56 years ago.
Since then, brand names may have changed but not the honesty and fairness with which those items are sold, his
long-time customers and friends are quick to say.

"A walk through the store is nostalgic. It's old-timey. It's nice.

"Somehow the small store stock the all-necessary foods, but being the only store in Hastings and because it is the
only one physically available to many residents here, Bob Lovett finds room for much more.

"Besides the dry goods, the produce and the meats there are mothballs, bandannas, clothespins, pantyhose,
kerosene lamps, rat traps, vegetable and flower seeds, baby bottles, school supplies, bedroom slippers, lard,
sandpaper and faucet washers tucked in corners or tacked to walls.

"Sawdust covers the floor of the butcher shop and the big wood butcher block standing at its center is worn
concave from use. His meats are an item of particular pride for Bob Lovett. Fresh smoked pork neck and backs
are a staple. Hand-sliced country hams and fat-back bacon fill the rear of the store with stomach-teasing aromas
-- an old and mostly forgotten method of moving meat.

"The store is clean, it's no-nonsense and it's practical; it is Bob Lovett through and through.

"Residents here offer varied theories as to how Lovett's has lasted: "He's fair" ... "He's a friend" ... "He's got the
best meats anywhere" ... and as long as he has operated his store, "if he knows you, knows you're working or
knows you're trying to work, he'll give a man credit."

"Whichever reason or combination of reasons is right, it is evident that the man sells himself, and that takes care
of the store.

"Bob Lovett came here in 1921. A young man not yet 20 got the family crops in on their farm in Rochelle,
Georgia, packed up a few important things, including his new wife, Lottie, and moved to Hastings.

"Five years later he and his uncle bought 50-50 into an operating grocery store on Main Street. Fully stocked,
Bob Lovett's half cost $350. He would later own the store outright and relocate twice, but the store has
continually operated since that day in 1926.

"Bob Lovett stands as an institution in St. Johns County and in Hastings -- apart from the store.

"He has served over 12 years on the St. Johns County commission, twice as its chairman. He has served as a
Hastings town councilman for 43 years with a one-term absence. That break came about when he forgot about
the election and went bird-hunting. "I was a big bird hunter then," he grinned. Both he and his wife missed making
it to the polls that year and Bob Lovett lost the election by one vote. He says he did get some birds.

"His fellow councilmen agree that his terms in office have been characterized by his common sense approach to
problems and his tight hold of town purse strings. He's not a wasteful man.

"At one meeting of the council this year, Lovett fought the purchase of a new exterior door for the town branch
library stating that it need be only repaired. When a motion to buy the door and override his suggestion made the
floor, Bob Lovett told council members that they could buy a door if they wanted, but he was going to fix the old
one anyway -- and out of his own pocket. The next week he did.

"When action on the center-striping of the Main Street was held up for lack of funds, Bob Lovett bought the
paint, built the forms, and next week will take one city employee out with him and paint  the street by hand.

"Bob Lovett is his own man. Lovett has become known at Rotary Clubs across the nation because Rotarians
visiting the small Hastings club bring home tales of the gourmet down-home cooking they sampled in Hastings.
"Mr. Bob" is chief cook for the luncheon meetings.

"For 28 years he and Lucy Hensley have prepared the weekly fare here and an average lunch includes country-
cooked meats, fresh vegetables, home-made desserts and the hallmark of the Hastings Rotary -- hot, fresh
biscuits with every meal. It's rumored that more than a few Rotarians from St. Augustine and Palatka have
intentionally missed their own meetings for a chance to make it up in Hastings.

Allen D. Nease High School
Nease High School opened in the fall of 1981. It was named after Allen Duncan Nease a member of the St.
Johns County School Board. The school originally opened to grades 7 to 10. -

W. D. Hartley Elementary School
In January of 1982 the Orange Street School in downtown St. Augustine closed. The staff and students were
moved to the new Hartley Elementary school. This school was named after the longest serving school
superintendent in St. Johns Public School history. He was elected school superintendent 7 terms in a row for a
total of 28 years. He oversaw the difficult task of desegregating St. Johns County Public Schools. The school
was designed for 600 students. Among the principals of the school are Delores Rowley, Lionel Key, Patricia
Roberson and Mary Seymour.

Bridge of Lions
On November 19, 1982 the Bridge of Lions was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Trinity Episcopal Continues Growth
The Rev. Canon Walter T. Saffran served as rector during the 1980s and into the 1990s and membership
continued to increase. St. Monica Chapter of the Daughters of the King was established February 18, 1996.  
Father Saffran retired in 1997

The Burning of Ketterlinus Junior High School
On February 8, 1981 Ketterlinus Junior High School on 67 Orange Street was nearly destroyed by arson. The
two story Spanish-style stucco building had served as a high school and today serves as an elementary school.
The rest of the 80-81 school year was spent doubling up with half days of eight and ninth grades.

Model Land Company and Abbott Tract
In April 1983 the Preservation Board nominated the Model Land Company and the Abbott Tract to the
National Register.

The Model Land Company district represents an area of development during and following the "Flagler Era."
This includes the
Ponce de Leon Hotel, Memorial Presbyterian and Grace United Methodist Churches that were
constructed by
Henry Flagler or in the case of the Markland House by his partner Dr. Andrew Anderson.
Predominant architectural styles in this area are Queen Anne, Colonial Revival, Spanish Renaissance Revival,
Venetian Renaissance Revival, Masonry and Frame Vernacular, Romanesque Revival, Italianate and Bungalow.

This district is bounded by Orange Street on the north, Ponce de Leon Boulevard and the San Sebastian River
on the west, King Street on the south and Cordova Street on the east.

The Abbott Tract was the first development outside of the colonial city boundaries. It is composed of two
American Territorial era subdivision plots - the Noda Concession and the Davis Range tracts. It contains the
largest concentration of 19th Century architecture within the city. Architectural styles found in this area include
Queen Anne, Colonial Revival, Masonry and Frame Vernacular, Mediterranean Revival and Moorish Revival.

The district is bounded by Pine Street on the north, San Marco Avenue on the west, the north boundary of the
Castillo de San Macros grounds on the south and the Matanzas River on the east.

Certified Local Government
In 1983 the City was designated a Certified Local government and participated in the CLG program. This
allowed the City to actively review applications for nomination to the National Register and allow the City to
apply for funds specially set aside for Certified Local Governments The City Commission adopted Ordinance 83-
10 reorganizing the Historic Architectural Review board, and defining the Board's duties and responsibilities.

The Burning of Hastings March 26, 1985
"Fire leveled almost an entire downtown block in this farming community early today, leaving smoldering rubble
of what had been seven stores.

On the west side of Main Street, across from the burned-out block, heat was so intense in the height of the fire
that it broke glass in shops and offices. Cans of food exploding in the burning stores and glass windows
shattering sounded like artillery fire. This morning, sidewalks were littered wit the broken shards of glass. Bricks
also littered the street from a building that collapsed during the fire.

Fire departments from Palatka and three other units from neighboring Putnam County as well as Riverdale,
Bakerville, Crescent Beach, St. Augustine Shores and St. Augustine South in St. Johns County brought men,
women and equipment to fight the flames.

After buildings in the middle of the block collapsed, firefighters concentrated on keeping the blaze from spreading
southward to the Hastings Holiness Church, which has been meeting in the old Atlantic Bank of Hastings building
at the corner of Main and Cochran Street.

Firefighters were able to halt the flames before they caused more than "very minor damage" to the bank building,
a town landmark.

Stores that burned from the north end to the south were Subs and Such, Lovett's Grocery Store, an office
formerly occupied by Hairlock that was vacant, Roger's Trash and Treasury, Jim Wright's Supply Store, Minnie
Bates clothing store, two newly renovated buildings -- one that was to be used for offices and the other for a
laundromat -- and Merry's Antiques, which had been renovated two years ago.

Lovett's, the oldest business on the block, had been in that location since 1939 when it moved from the west side
of the road following another fire about 1935, according to former owner Bob Lovett.

Lovett and his uncle opened the grocery store in 1926 in a building that stood near where the Hastings Library is
located. Lovett's uncle died in 1929, and his brother, Paul, joined the business until 1932. Lovett then ran the
store by himself until two years ago, when he sold it to Frank McDaniel."

Dr. Martin Luther King Avenue
January 27, 1986 Central Ave is renamed by the City of St. Augustine as "Dr. Martin Luther King Avenue" on
the signs however: M. L. King Avenue.

Historic Preservation Element
In 1986 the City Commission adopted the Historic Preservation Element of the Comprehensive Plan, which was
adopted by the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) as the model element for historic preservation. The
Historic Preservation Element established various goals and objectives, including protection for archaeological
resources, strengthened Ordinance 83-10 updated the Architectural Guidelines for Historic Preservation.

The City Commission also adopted Ordinance 86-42 that established zones, reviewed construction sites,
protected archaeological resources and added archaeologists to the City staff.

Century Pioneer Families
Because they are continuing to use their lands in the time-honored tradition of their forebears -- for agricultural
purposes -- five St. Johns County families have been named Century Pioneer Farm Families.

The local families were represented by James B. Floyd, Clement E. Solano, Francis Brubaker, Elkton; R. Earl
and Winoma McCullar, Hastings; and Charles R. Usina, St. Augustine, as state Commissioner of Agriculture
Doyle Conner passed out certificates attesting that their lands had been owned and used in agricultural purposes
for at least 100 years.

Old St. Johns County Jail
Old St. Johns County Jail  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 27, 1987 as number
87001427.

Mayor and City Commission 1989
Kenneth H. Beeson, Jr., Mayor; John Giannotta, Vice Mayor; James Costeira, Henry L. Twine, Tracy
Upchurch. The City Manager was Michael A. Rourke.

Lincolnville
Lincolnville became a National Historic District on November 29, 1991 as number 91000979. The district  is
bounded by Cedar, Riberia, Cerro and Washington Streets and DeSoto Place. It contained 548 historic
buildings at the time of its National Register listing, but extensive demolitions in Lincolnville in the 1990s and early
21st century continued, so the number of surviving buildings is now much smaller. The area is 1,400 acres.

St. Augustine Alligator Farm
The St. Augustine Alligator Farm was added to the National Register of Historic Places on September 10, 1992
as number 92001232.

The Solla-Carcaba Cigar Factory
The Solla-Carcaba Cigar Factory (also known as the Pamies-Arango Cigar Factory) is a historic cigar factory in
St. Augustine, Florida. On May 6, 1993, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places as
number 93000374.

Xavier Lopez House
The Xavier Lopez House was added to the National Register of Historic Places on July 1, 1993 as number
93000579.

Villa Zorayda
Villa Zorayda  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on September 23, 1993 as number
93001002.

Fort Mose
Fort Mose was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 12, 1994 as number 94001645.

Samantha Wilson Nursing Home
In 1995 the Samantha Wilson Nursing Home was built. It is a project of the St. Johns Welfare Federation to
provide skilled nursing care to St. Johns County.

His
toric St. Augustine Preservation Board Abolished
The Historic St. Augustine Preservation Board was abolished by act of the Florida legislature. Local preservation
activities, including property management, maintenance of buildings and grounds, operation of the Spanish
Quarter living history museum, and archaeology services became the responsibility of the City of St. Augustine.

Horace Walker House (Castillo Sebastian)
Horace Walker House  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on January 30, 1998 as number
98000026.

Sanchez Homestead
Sanchez Homestead  on 7270 Old State Road 207 in  Elkton was added to the National Register of Historic
Places on October 12, 2001 as number 01001083.

Dixie Highway and St. Augustine Civic Center Placed on the National  Register of Historic Places.
On April 20, 2005 the Dixie Highway (or the old brick road) was placed on the National Register of Historic
Properties as number 05000311. St. Augustine Civic Center  was added April 21, 2005 as number 05000316.

Old St. Augustine Record Building
Record Building  was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 26, 2006.

Hastings High School
On June 14, 2006 the old Hastings High School and the new town hall and multipurpose building was added to
the National Record of Historic Places as number 06000502. This building was saved in the 1990s through the
involvement of the Hastings Alumni Association, the City of Hastings and Commissioner Coach Floyd. (It had a
small assist from a local TV program called St. Johns Magazine.)

Hastings Community Center
On February 21, 2007 the Hastings Community center an old WPA project and the former town hall was added
to the National Register of Historic Places as number 07000057. Unfortunately the designation did not save the
Community Center and it was tore down.

Restoring the Florida Memorial Arch
In February 2008 the arch was moved to Puryear Park for a county drainage project. Core Construction
company was hired to restore Arram Lincoln Lewis arch.

Stanbury Cottage (Gingerbread House)
Stanbury Cottage was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 8, 2008 as number
08000966.

Diocesan Library Archives
In 2009 a diocesan library-archives was created in the Father Michael O’Reilly House.

North City Historic District
North City Historic District was created on October 1, 2009 Roughly bounded by Castillo Drive, San Marcos
Avenue, Old Mission Avenue, and U.S. Route 1 NRHP # 09000778.  

Fullerwood Historic District Created
On September 24, 2010 Fullerwood Park Residential Historic District bounded by San Marcos, Macaris,
Hildreth & Hospital Creek was made a historic district.

Nelmar Terrace Historic District Created
Nelmar Terrace Historic District  was created March 28, 2011 bounded by Alfred St., San Carlos Ave., San
Marcos Ave., Hospital Creek NRHP # 11000145.



"And to make an end is to make a beginning." - T.S. Eliot
Great Cross

Photographer: Gil Wilson
Athalia Lindsley House

Photographer: Gil Wilson
Father Camps Statute
Photographer: Gil Wilson
Richard Boone House

Photographer: Gil Wilson
Richard Boone
Neil Kutcen Collection
Lifting the Cross into Place
Mayor Kenny Beeson
He loved the City of St. Augustine, its history and its people
Samantha Wilson Nursing Home
161 Marine Street
Photographer: Gil Wilson
Hastings Community Center and old City Hall
WPA Construction
Gone but not Forgotten

Photographer: Gil Wilson
Custom Search
Dr. Bronson highly recommends this
book as a fun read on one of St.
Augustine's murder mysteries.
A foundation book for learning about
houses in St. Augustine. Can not
recommend this book enough for people
who are interested about houses in St.
Augustine.
Yours,
Dr. Bronson
1st Spanish Period 1565 to 1600  
Reconstruction 1865 to 1876
1st Spanish Period 1600 to 1700  
Post-Reconstruction 1876 to 1885
1st Spanish Period 1700 to 1763   
Flagler Construction 1885 to 1890
British Period 1763 to 1783
Flagler Era 1890 to 1900
2nd Spanish Period 1783 to 1821
Progressive 1900 - 1912
American Territorial 1821 to 1845
New Freedom and World War I
American Statehood 1845 to 1860
The Roaring 1920s
Civil War 1860 to 1865  - Page 1
The Great Depression
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 2
World War II
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 3
Post World War II Era
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 4
Civil Rights 1960 to 1965
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 5
St. Augustine Rebounds 1965-1990
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 6
Subject Index
Civil War 1860 to 1865 - Page 7
Timeline of St. Augustine History
Crime Scene - Note body still present
Great Seal of Florida gets its 1985 Makeover
St. Augustine of Hippo
Like us on
Facebook