|1900 St. Augustine Evening Record
Extracts from the St. Augustine Evening Record
E. Reynolds 1900 St. Johns County School Report
E. Reynolds is a one term School superintendent and the son of the school system's 2nd superintendent. This
report was reprinted in the newspaper. 1900 report. (Letter Writing as a Course) (Teachers 1900-1901)
Students who were neither absent or tardy 1904-05
St. Joseph's Academy
The Report of the Superintendent of Public Instruction for Florida gives a view of St. Joseph's Academy at the
close of the 1900 school year: "This institution was founded in 1868 by the Sisters of St. Joseph, of Puy,
France, and is still conducted by them under the patronage of the Rt. Rev. John Moore, D. D., Bishop of this
The course is divided into three departments: Primary (with Kindergarten), Junior and Senior. The Senior
Department comprises a course of three years. It is thorough, and embraces all the branches of a useful and
refined education, including French, taught by Sisters who are natives of France. The program for graduating
class covers all studies required for public school teachers; certificates of the highest grade.
The situation is one of the most pleasing in a city justly celebrated for its healthfulness and climatic beauty.
Young ladies may enter at any period of the scholastic year, either as boarders or as day pupils. Music, painting,
stenography, typewriting with use of necessary instruments are extras.
There are in attendance 150 students. The number of teachers is seven. For further information address Sister
M. Eulalia, Superior.
Palm Valley Baptist Church
In 1900 the Southern Baptist Convention added another church to its membership. The Palm Valley Baptist
was originally called the Diego Baptist Church from 1900-1910. The church was an oblong, white, frame
church. Its first pastor was Rev. D. C. Andress from 1900-1914. From 1929 through the 1930s the pastor was
Rev. C. F. Finch. who was educated at Clinton Baptist College in Clinton, Ky.
Ponce de Leon Hotel Gets and Important Visitor -March 21, 1900
Admiral Dewey and Wife.
Apartments have been engaged at the Ponce de Leon by Admiral George Dewey and Mrs. Dewey, who are
expected to be here either on the evening of Saturday next or on Sunday morning. Mr. Robert Murray has
caused Mr. Flagler's suite of rooms to be put in readiness for the reception of the Admiral and his wife. This
suite, which is naturally the most elaborate in the house, was used by ex-President Cleveland and Mrs.
Cleveland when they visited this city several years ago.
Any projected entertainment of the distinguished couple will be deferred until a consultation as to their wishes
can be had with the Admiral and his wife; it being the wish of those desirous of entertaining them that they may
be permitted to pass their time as pleasantly and informally as they please.
It is hoped, however, that a reception may be one of the many entertainments which will be furnished.
All St. Augustine is waiting to give Admiral and Mrs. Dewey a cordial reception. Palm Beach and Miami after
St. Augustine, are the objective points of their trip.
Casino Bowling Alleys.
At the Casino Bowling Alley three prizes will be awarded for the month of March: A large "Stein" for the best
score made during the month, and a wee, blue mug for the best cocked hat score made in the month.
The tournament for the News Herald challenge cup is now on. This cup was won in 1896 by John O'Connor, in
1897 and 1898 by William Carcaba, and last year by Donald Dunham.
To further encourage ladies who go in for bowling, a hat pin contest will be inaugurated by Mr. Taylor for those
making a certain score. He has several attractive hat pins, some with a coonhead design and others with coat-of-
arms of the State.
Cake Walks - March 17, 1900
The twelfth annual cakewalk of the Ponce de Leon waiters at the Casino last night was a pronounced success.
There was a regular crush. The first part of the program consisting of some singing and dancing did not amount
to much, with the exception of some good buck dancing which was done for a $5 prize. This was won by
Wragley, to the satisfaction of everybody.
The cakewalk itself, which began about ten o'clock was the main thing, of course, and the contestants included
some very clever steppers. After a short time it became evident which was the favorite couple in line and the
decision of the judges a warding the cake to couple number fourteen met with general approbation. The cake is
the large and much ornamented one which has been on exhibition at the Casino for the past several days, and
was won by the Valencia bell-boy and his partner, a dusky belle of Jacksonville. A couple of two steps and
waltzes were participated in after the award by the entire "push" and some very graceful dancers were seen
1901-1902 State School Report
W. S. M. Pinkham the new County Superintendent (elected in 1900) submitted his first report to the State
Superintendent. The school system is dealing with a chronic shortage of money and except for the city schools
the term of the schools is shortened. A new issue for schools is compulsory education. For more of W. S. M.
Pinkham's reports see (1906) and (1910).
Soldiers in the Philippines
Soldiers from Lincolnville that served in the U. S. Army during the Philippines insurrection were in the Twenty-
fourth and Twenty-fifth Infantry: Wm. Robertson, Wm. Plummer, Joe Robertson, Granville Houston, Bill
Dummett, Lawrence White, Geo. Adams and Arthur Kyles. There may have been others participating in other
Has Waited Forty Years. (The Florida Star, January 3, 1902)
Forty years is a long time to wait for the payment of a debt, but John Simms, a resident of this county (St.
Johns) has been waiting that length of time in order to get payment for a herd of 200 cattle, alleged to have
been forcibly taken from him during the war and driven into St. Augustine for the subsistence of the federal
troops stationed here at the time. the matter has been hanging for years in the court of claims at Washington, but
is now nearing to a probable settlement. Assistant United States District Attorney Zacharias, representing the
government, and W. W. Dewhurst, representing the claimant, met at the latter's office today for the purpose of
taking testimony in the case. Among the witnesses were Messrs. Middleton and Osteen, both of whom testified
to the facts and attested the loyalty of Mr. Simms, which is one of the factors in determining his right to recover.
Trinity Home (Tatler, March 15, 1902)
There will be a card party in the parlor of the Alcazar this evening for the benefit of the Cuban orphans at
"Trinity Home," in New Augustine. It is an invitation affair, the ladies in charge inviting their friends, who it is
hoped will respond as the money is sorely needed. The tickets for the card party are but one dollar each,
consequently the receipts will be small, and many friends of the self-sacrificing women who have the children in
charge, will be debarred from contributing in that way. The friends of the good work were extremely anxious to
give a "garden party" during next week when many visitors will be here who would attend. As it is Passion
Week an entertainment could not be given for the purpose, although Mr. Robert Murray had generously offered
the use of the west grounds of the Ponce de Leon and the orchestra. It is so necessary that these noble women
be aided in their work of supporting and training the ten orphans they have in charge, that we venture to call the
attention of the charitable to them. These orphans were brought from Cuba by these ladies, who, of course,
assumed the responsibility for their support, and they must live, even in Passion Week.
Shooting of Councilman John Pappino
In 1902 one of the most dramatic moments in the St. Augustine City council occurs as the Reconstruction
period comes to an end with the shooting of Councilmen John Pappino by the Town Marshall Charles Benet in
chambers and the failure of the town to do anything about it. For the newspaper account. Jessie McCain
another black Alderman was arrested after his term. 1902 also saw the death of John Papy.
The Rebuilding of Trinity Episcopal
In 1895 Rev. C. M. Sturges became rector of the church. Although talked about since the 1880s the rebuilding
of the Trinity Episcopal Church begun in 1900 was completed in 1902. The architects were Snelling and Potter,
New York architects.. The entrance to the church was now oriented toward St. George Street. Work began in
early 1902 and on January 17, 1903 the first services were held in the remodeled church. The church could
now seat 500 worshipers.
The Reverend L. Fitz-James Hindry served as Rector from 1904 until 1936. The Altar Guild, Daughters of the
King, St. Catherine’s Guild, St. Monica’s Guild were formed during his ministry.
Cordova becomes the Alcazar Annex
In 1903 a bridge is built across Cordova street connecting the Cordova Hotel (old Casa Monica) and the
Alcazar. Over the years since its creation the Alcazar Hotel (originally an overflow for the Ponce de Leon)
became more and more popular. The bridge ended the independent existence of the Cordova Hotel making it
simply an overflow annex of the Alcazar.
Rural Schools - On again/Off Again
On July 13, 1903 an article appeared in The St. Augustine Evening Record about new desks for Osceola
School. The school board was trying to consolidate the Tocoi, Picolata and Osceola schools to boost the
number of students. Because the schools did not have the number of students the schools had not been open for
St. Johns Methodist Episcopal Church
This church was organized on Palatka Road outside Hastings. From 1903 through 1913 the church was located
in the Byrd Building in downtown Hastings. The building was erected in 1913 as a square granite stone building
of natural color. $7600 was given by the Livingston Fund in the building of the St. Johns M. E. Church. The first
pastor was J. L. Folsom from 1903-1907. In 1937 the pastor was Rev. Charles E. Carroll. He was pastor of
this church when it merged in June 1939. He had a B. A. Degree at Morning side College in Sioux City Iowa, a
M. A. Degree from Boston University and a Ph. D. from University of Colorado.
Marble Head Stones for National Cemetery Arrive (August 18, 1905)
Sgt. Pate, who is in charge of the military post here is engaged unpacking scores of marble headstones for
graves today. The stones are for the heads of the graves in the military cemetery at St. Francis Barracks. In all,
there are 83. Of these, 73 are unknown, five are known and five are to mark the graves of Indian prisoners.
Many graves in the cemetery are marked merely by a coquina block on which is carved the number of the
grave. These blocks will be replaced with the marble headstones and the appearance of the cemetery will be
greatly improved thereby. Every grave will be marked when all the stones are up. The slabs marked "Unknown"
bear the following inscriptions: Unknown U. S. Soldier Indian Wars in Florida. The stones are also numbered
consecutively from one to 83. Great improvements have already been made at the cemetery by removal of the
deciduous trees and the erection of a number of handsome marble monuments. City water has also been
introduced into the cemetery and four pipes are conveniently arranged for reaching any portion of the enclosure.
This will enable those desiring to cultivate flowers to do so. After the first frost, the 30 bodies of soldiers buried
in Jacksonville of which mention has been made before, will be brought over and interred in the northeast corner
of the cemetery. The graves will be marked by marble shafts and the graves will be laid in ten rows, each
containing 3 graves. A very handsome monument will be placed in the corner. Sgt. Pate will be busy for several
days placing the headstones.
Theodore Roosevelt Visits the Ponce de Leon Hotel
On Oct 21, 1905 Theodore Roosevelt made a visit to the Ancient City with a party of 12. Even though he was
early the flagship hotel was opened in his honor. Wm. Kenan represented Henry Flagler. Roosevelt was greeted
by a committee of distinguished citizens and officials of the Florida East Coast Railroad. The crowd came
through the main gates on King Street for a brief reception in the great Rotunda and then he was escorted to
Henry Flagler's private suite.
The city was elegantly decorated in his honor.
At 7:30 o'clock he spoke in old Fort Marion to a great crowd of citizens, who thoroughly appreciated his
speech. Sunday he attended services at the Presbyterian Memorial church at 11 a.m. In the afternoon he took a
launch ride to the ocean and at 9 o'clock his special train left for points in Alabama Arkansas and Louisiana.
A Quiet Sunday Passed by President Roosevelt at St. Augustine (The Stark County Democrat,
(October 24, 1905)
Ponce de Leon Hotel Opened Ahead of Time for His Benefit---Attended Church.
President Roosevelt spent a quiet restful Sabbath in the oldest city of the United States and at 9 o'clock tonight
left on his special train for Mobile and the Mississippi Valley.
With his party, the president was entertained at the Ponce De Leon Hotel, which was thrown open three months
ahead of its regular season for his special benefit. As soon as the president left the beautiful hotel was again
closed and will remain dark until the middle of January.
After breakfast in the small dining room of the hotel at 9 a.m., the president worked at the most urgent
correspondence for a time, with Secretary Loeb, and then attended the morning service at the Flagler Memorial
Presbyterian church were the Rev. James Coffin Stout preached a sermon, taking as his text, "Worthy the Lamb
That Was Slain."
The preacher made no reference to the president in his sermon, and merely mentioned him in his prayer. After
leaving the church, the president took a short drive about the city.
At 3 o'clock, after he had dined with his party, the president went for a launch ride and a swim off Anastasia
Island, a low sandy strip of land which lies half a mile from the ancient Fort Marion. A large crowd of
townpeople who were watching the hotel for a glimpse of the president followed his carriage to the beach when
he started out for his ride.
Local policemen also tagged along with the populace, although their attendance was not requested.
We don't need you this afternoon," one of the secret service guards said to the police officer who was leading
the van of the president's volunteer protectors.
"Oh, that's all right, we'll come along anyway," replied the St. Augustine bluecoat. "We're glad to get such a
good view of the President. Besides, that much is coming to you." And they followed along down to the beach
at the head of the crowd and stood with bared heads while the President and his party put out to sea. The
President returned from his boat ride about 7 o'clock, discussed dinner with his party in the hotel and then
proceeded to the station.
St. Agnes' Mission Chapel Organized
In 1906 North City Catholics organized St. Agnes' Mission Chapel to serve the residents of North City. The
church was a rectangular frame structure painted white with a belfrey tower and painted green. It had a bell and
a small reed organ. The first Father was Rev. M. Foley from 1906-1910. He attended American Catholic
Theological Seminary in the 1920s and 30s the pastor was Father R. J. McGill who had attended American
College and Seminary in Rome Italy and Mungret College in Ireland.
St. Johns Light and Power Company Lays Street Car Tracks
In 1906 the St. Johns Light and Power Company began laying tracks. The first trolley ran on June 16, 1907. In
the downtown area. Soon service was extended throughout the city. By 1908 the trolley ran north to the Florida
Deaf and Blind School at Genopoly Street on San Marco Avenue. On Central Avenue the line went to South
Street and west on King Street to New Augustine. The trolley would eventually include a line across the
Mantanzas to Anastasia, South, Chautauqua, and Crescent beaches. including the South Beach bathing pavilion
and alligator farm, Chautauqua Beach, assembly grounds of the M.E. Church South, auditorium and bathing
The Film Industry Comes to St. Augustine
In 1906 the Selig Polyscope Company films "A Trip to St. Augustine". This company was founded by William
N Selig in 1896. This company gave Tom Mix and Bronco Billy Anderson their starts.
In 1909 the Ponce de Leon Celebration is filmed by Kalem Studios. Kalem had a production studio in Florida.
1913 saw the first movie studio at the Fountain of Youth with the Pathe Company. This was a short venture as
Pathe a French company stopped US production in 1914.
In 1915 from a poem of Rudyard Kipling "A Fool There Was" Theda Bara launched her career. She would be
famous for her vamp pictures. Also appearing was Edward Jose and Creighton Hale.
The oldest city would be a favorite location for movies and actors and actresses. Ethel Barrymore, Billie Burke,
Pearl White and others would visit and film in St. Augustine. The estate of "Three Oaks" at 175 Oneida St, the
Fort, the Ponce de Leon Hotel and Fountain of Youth were popular film location.
Flagler Mausoleum Built
Flagler would be returning to St. Augustine to rest in eternity. Not in 1906 but the mausoleum was added to the
Memorial Presbyterian building. Jenny and her baby were the first to be placed there.
Church of God Organized
The Church of God, an African American congregation, was located on 169 Palmo Street. It was organized in
1906. The headquarters of the church was Anderson, Indiana. It was part of the Florida State Presbytery of the
Church of God. From 1906 to 1912 services were held in a private home on Palmo Street. The services were
headed by Elder Bruce. In 1912 a stone church was erected. It was a square stone building stuccoed on the
outside, gray in color. This building was destroyed in a storm in 1913. In 1914 the church was rebuilt using the
same material. In 1930 the church was remodeled. The first pastor was Elder Benjamin Calhoun who was the
pastor form 1906-1912. He highest education was grammar school. (By 1928 the Pastor Elder Doyle Lee
Sherman was a graduate of Edward Walter College and B. F. Lee Theological Seminary.)
In 1906 the Y.M.C.A. building was completed. It was paid for by Henry Flagler.
Local Notes (St. Augustine Evening Record, Dec. 7, 1906)
Dr. Garnett's new business block on Washington street is nearing completion. He has rented the upper part to
Dr. D. H. Borwn, colored, for a hospital. One of the stores has been rented by J. A. Low & Bro., and the other
by the Ancient City Furniture Company. A cement walk is being laid along the front of the property.
Dr. Brown's Hospital - Dr. D. H. Brown was a physician and surgeon who specialized in diseases of women
and children. His office was at 61 Washington Street in Lincolnville. In 1907 he had Fannie R. Mason the
second richest African American woman in the United States as a patient at his hospital.
Our Lady of Good Counsel
In 1907 in Bakersville a Roman Catholic Church was organized. It was a mission of St. Ambrose Church. Prior
to 1907 people in this area either attended St. Ambrose or the Cathedral. The building was erected in 1907 as
a rectangular frame building painted white in Gothic style. The building had a corner stone, bell and reed organ.
The first priest was Father Stephen Langlade was there from 1907-21. He had been educated in the French
Seminary. In 1935 the priest was Father Alfred McDonald who was a graduate of St. Mary's Seminary in
Baltimore, Maryland. The societies at the church included Holy Name Society, Altar Society and the Purgatorial
Fred Gallinger (The New Enterprise, March 7, 1907)
Fred Gallinger, a merchant tailor, St. Augustine, committed suicide in his shop Monday morning by inhaling gas.
Riley Carter (The New Enterprise, March 7, 1907)
riley Carter found a relic a few days ago in New Augustine while plowing a field. He turned a Spanish silver
dollar of the year 1765.
Mayor's Proclamation (St. Augustine Evening Record, June 17, 1907)
Mayor's Office, St. Augustine, Fla., June 17th, 1907.
In pursuance of the charter of the City of St. Augustine and of those ordinances provideing for the closing of
saloons on the eve of election and of places where spiritous or intoxicating liquors are sold, I do hereby order all
saloons and places where spritous liquors are sold to close at 6 o'clock Monday evening June 17th 1907, and
to remain closed until 6 o'clock Wednesday mroning, June 19th 1907.
E. E. Boyce, Mayor
Silver Tea (St. Augustine Evening Record, June 21, 1907)
The Ladies of the Sacred Heart will give a silver tea Tuesday, June 25, at the home of the vice-president of the
society, Mrs. Rogero Beale at her residence on Green street. An interesting program will be rendered and those
who attend will enjoy an excellent entertainment and aid the society in their worthy work.[Editors note: Not
know if this society was connected to Mesdames du Sacre Coeur.
Old Landmark Eliminated (St. Augustine Evening Record, June 24, 1907) (The church building was the old
Bethel Methodist that Trinity United Methodist is descended from). Work of demolishing the old colored
church, on the lot opposite the opera house, on St. George street commenced this morning. Of the site a fine
two-story brick building will be erected for Mr. Joseph Lynn. The church which gives way to a pretentious
modern building is an old land mark and the change in appearance of the vicinity will be quite noticable.
Daughters of Isabella Lawn Fete (St. Augustine Evening Record, July 12, 1907)
The Daughters of Isabella will hold their annual lawn fete on the plaza lawn and slave market next Wednesday
afternoon and night beginning at 4 p.m. The afternoon willl be for the children, games of all kinds will be their
entertainment and prizes will be given to the successful contestants in the various games. Delicious home made
candlies, cakes and ice cream will be for sale all afternoon and night. Entertaining music will be furnished for the
occasion. The public is cordially invited to attend and doen't forget to send or bring your children. The proceeds
of the lawn fete are for the benefit of the Mortuary Chapel.
Sisters of the Resurrection (St. Augustine Evening Record, October 17, 1907)
The Sisters of the Resurrection are preparing to move next week from New Augustine to their new home in
North city, having secured the Abbott Mansion.
Odd Fellows Hall ( St Augustine Evening Record, October 24, 1907)
Plans for the colored Odd Fellows hall have been prepared and work on the building will commence at an early
Streetcar (St. Augustine Evening Record, October 24, 1907)
The street railway has been laid to South street on Central avenue and the ties have been laid on South street to
the water park. In the course of a few days the railway will be completed to the South Street bridge.
Development and Progress on the East Coast (Florida East Coast Homeseeker 1908)
During the past three or four years, St. Augustine has made numerous improvements, much greater than would
be recognized at a superficial glance. To a great extent this was due to the unity of action on the part of the
people of this city. They came together for the purpose of pushing the city's interest and the results, directly and
indirectly, have been more extensive than the average person appreciates. A number of splendid buildings have
been reared and others are pending. A street railway has been installed, also an electric light plant. The farming
section of the county has attracted attention from various parts of the country and farmers are arriving daily to
clear and cultivate new land.
Mayor Masters (See Mayor Masters Clean-up) has been honored with two appointments from Governor
Broward, according to advices from the executive headquarters, received by the mayor today. Governor
Broward has appointed Mayor Masters a delegate to represent the State of Florida at the National Rivers and
Harbors Congress, to be held in Washington, December 9th to 11th, and also the delegate from Florida to the
Southern Commercial Congress, December 7th and 8th, also at Washington.
The Telephone Company will soon make it possible for the farmers and those residing in the rural districts to be
in constant touch with this city by means of a rural telephone system. This company will make connections with
any branch lines which the farmers may see fit to construct, which can be done at a nominal cost, where a
number join in the expense of the enterprise. The progressive farmers of this section will doubtless take
advantage of this offer and erect such rural lines.
That the St. Augustine Power Boat Club has come to stay and fill an active and useful field of action is manifest
from the list of prominent men of St. Augustine who have already enrolled themselves as members of the club
and are taking an active interest in the contemplated work of the organization.
Work is progressing rapidly on the interior improvements to the clubhouse on the bay. The whole of the interior
of the building has been torn out and it will be rebuilt on comfortable plans to meet the requirements of the club
members and visiting friends. The members hope to get into their new quarters early in December.
The members are alive to the fact that St. Augustine is the head of the new famous East Coast Canal, and as
such should lead in hospitality and usefulness to the thousands of pleasure craft which will enter this port each
The Y.M.C.A. grew out of the 1904 Florida East Coast Railway Athletic Association. In 1908 Henry Flagler
built a red brick YMCA building for the people of St. Augustine. The YMCA was located at the corner of
Valencia and Riberia Streets. The railway was the main backer. It had bowling allies, a gym and later a
swimming pool. It's members were expected to pay dues. This was another extension of the sports and
entertainment vision of the Flagler Empire. The building of the Y.M.C.A. was especially important because it
was a year round operation as opposed to the Alcazar's Casino that was only open during the winter season.
Dawson Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church Organized
In 1908 African Americans organized the Dawson Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church at 42 Bernard Street.
The building was a rectangular frame stucco building with a tower, a bell and a small organ. It was dedicated in
1908 and remodeled in 1923. The first pastor was Rev. Dawson from 1908-1909. In 1938 the pastor was
Rev. W. A. Lindley who was educated at the State Agricultural and Mechanical Institute in Normal Alabama.
Mt. Zion African Methodist Episcopal Organized
Dawson Chapel was not the only AME church formed in 1908. Mt. Zion AME on Washington St., Federal
Point Road in Hastings was also organized in 1908. It started in a small frame school building next to the site of
the present church. The school building was razed and a new rectangular white frame church (meeting house
type) with 2 towers, a bell and 14 stained glass windows was erected and dedicated in 1917. The first pastor
was Rev. H. A. Denson who served from 1908-1913. In 1938 Rev. A. A. Redfield was pastor. He was a
graduate of Edward Waters College in Jacksonville Florida.
Travels 4,000 Miles to Become Bride (East Oregonian, August 7, 1908)
Jesse B. Burrell of Pendleton and Miss Edith G. Rantia of St. Augustine, Fla, were united in marriage by the
Rev. W. T. Euster at the parsonage of the Methodist church this morning at 1 o'clock, the bride just having
finished a journey of 4000 miles from oldest town in the United States to solemnize the event. The ceremony
was to have been performed yesterday afternoon, Miss Rantia being due to arrive yesterday on No. 1 at 12:25.
A train wreck delayed her, however, and she did not arrive until 1 o'clock this morning.
She was met at the depot by the anxious Mr. Burrell and taken in a cab directly to the parsonage where Rev.
W. T. Euster was waiting to say the few words necessary to make the happy pair man and wife.
Mrs. Burrell was born and raised in St. Augustine. She made the acquaintance of his former husband while he
was stationed there in the naval wireless telegraph service. Mr. Burrell has since resigned from the government
employ and is not connected with the Wheeler photograph studio of this city. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Doynes
Turner, reside in Pendleton.\
Mrs. Burrell is the daughter of the chief of police of St. Augustine.
Mr. and Mrs. Burrell will make their home at 700 East Webb Street.
Mather Perit School (St. Augustine Evening Record, August 8, 1908)
Work is well advanced on the Mather Perit school building at the corner of Washington street and Park place.
The old church building recently removed from Granada Street has been utilized in the construction of that
school. An entirely new building will replace the old church and will be located next to the school.
George Gibbs' New Gas Engine (The Florida Star, January 1, 1909)
St. Augustine numbers among its residents a young inventor, George W. Gibbs, whose name has already
become famous through his improved gas engine, which it is claimed will revolutionize the driving power of
automobiles and motor boats.
Tests have been made on Mr. Gibbs' engine by a disinterested expert, one of the most famous in the United
States, and his report of these tests show almost unbelievable results. Mr. Gibbs engine used, in this test, about
one-fourth of the gasoline used by a standard two-cycle engine, and at the same time obtained 23 per cent,
more mower. It used little more than one-half the gasoline used by the standard four cycle engine and obtained
87 per cent more power. This engine, by reason of the fact that it developes tremendous power and speed for
its small size, especially adapts it for use in automobiles and motor boats.
Mr. Gibbs returned a few days ago from Pennsylvania, where he spent the past several months directing
experiments with the engine and perfecting it. It is gratifying to note that the most sanguine expectations have
been fulfilled and that a company has been organized to manufacture the engines.
The Gibbs Gas Engine company, which was organized not long since for the manufacture of gas engines and gas
producers in the south, has completed its plans for the establishment of its headquarters and main plant in
Atlanta, and will begin as soon as its shop and equipment can be finished the manufacture of engines and
William McFadden held in St. Johns County Jail - February 12, 1909
St. Augustine was a resort town and crime followed. (See also Deluded Girl)
For Good Roads (The St. Lucie County Tribune, May 28, 1909)
The International League for Highway Improvement met in Richmond, Va, last week. It will be chartered under
the laws of Florida and meet annually in St. Augustine, the first Thursday in February. The names and residences
of the incorporators are: John A. Stewart, New York city; J. E. Ingraham, St. Augustine, Fla., John Anderson,
Bretton Woods, N. H., A. M. Taylor, St. Augustine, Fla, J. C. R. Foster, St. Augustine, Fla., Albert Lewis,
Bear Creek, Pa., W. A. MacWilliams, St. Augustine, Fla., E. I. Leighton, Cleveland, Ohio; Eugene Masters,
St. Augustine, Fla., Harry L. Brown, St. Augustine, Fla. These names are a guarantee that a movement of
national, if not of international, scope has already been begun which will not cease to exert a powerful influence
so long as good roads remain a main factor in the growth of the county in both moral and material prosperty.
Little Won Joe is Barred (The Pensacola Journal, November 7, 1909)
Celestial Cannot Attend the White Public School of St. Augustine According to Ruling.
Shall little twelve-year-old Wong Wu Joes, through whose viens flows the solid blood of the Ancient Empire, be
admitted to the public schools of St. Augustine, the same as any natural born American child? say the St.
This is the perplexing question which now confronts the school officials and which took up a portion of the time
of the board of public instruction in its discussion at the meeting held last night. It was finally decided to have
Superintendent W. S. M. Pinkham refer the matter to State Superintendent Wm. M. Holloway at Tallahassee
Brown of skin and with eyes black and sparkling with the desire for learning. Wong is a typical Chinese lad of
the middle class. He is in St. Augustine with a cousin who operates a laundry near the school. The sight of the
children with their books on their way to their studies awakened in the breast of the little Celestial the desire to
also go to school and learn. His cousin was willing that he should gain the knowledge of the American and took
the necessary steps to enter him.
Principal Boone referred the matter to Superintendent Pinkham and he decided to refer it to the board. It is not
believed that anyone would object to Wong's entering the school, for he is well behaved, cleanly and quiet. It is
the question of the precedent that would thus be established that stares the school officials in the face. If he is
admitted to the schools others may come. It is probable that the outcome of the whole matter will be that he will
be admitted but with the understanding that if others of his race should come to St. Augustine they should be
given a separate instructor. This solution has been suggested. Now this admittance will probably hinge upon the
advice of the state superintendent.
In the meantime Wong sits in his cousin's laundry attending to customers and gazing out of the window at the
children going to and from school with their books and there is just a little gleam of wistfulness in the bright
almond eyes. He wants to go to school and to master the learning of his adopted land.
Death of A. J. Canova (The Florida Star, December 24, 1909)
Andrew J. Canova, a native of St. Augustine, the author of "Life and Adventures in South Florida," died at
Wildwood Friday last at the advanced age of 74 years. Mr. Canova was well known in titusville, having spent
many months here at different times with his son Andrew P. Canova, now residence of Wildwood.
Mrs. D. K. Harrison, of West Palm Beach; Mrs. T. U. Carpenter, of St. Petersburg, and Mrs. C. Cone, of
Miami, are his daughters, and his other son, Wallace, lives in Miami.
Deceased was a veteran of the Seminole war and one of the best known Indian fighters in the state.
Three Negro Funerals (St. Augustine Evening Record, Dec. 28, 1909)
Three different negro funerals have been handled by Undertaker Ponce during the past few days. Mose Murray,
a negro, aged twenty years, died Sunday morning at his home in New Augustine. The funeral was held in the
New Augustine church and interment was in San Sebastian cemetery. Nancy Gerard, aged sixty years, passed
away Saturday and her funeral was held Sunday from the Catholic church. Interment was in the Catholic
cemetery. She lived on Charlotte street. Fanny Reed was another aged negro woman who died Sunday and
whose funeral was held that afternoon. She was 69 years of age and was well known among the white people
as one of the old time negroes.
Orpheum Tonight.(St. Augustine Evening Record, December 29, 1909)
Program of Moving Pictures Best of Months.
Quite a feature of entertainment tonight will be found in moving pictures. The Orpheum has the kind that pleases
everyone. Chief among the pictures is one entitles "Rally Around the Flag." This is a war drama made up of
scenes of the Civil war. It's opening scenes show the peaceful landscape prior to the beginning of hostilities. This
reel comprises eight scenes and is one of the greatest ever made by the Kalem company. The Mexican
Smuggler is another stirring story told in pictures. This is an Edison film. Some glimpses of New York are shown
in the story of a New York Policemen. The Teamster's Hold-Up is another interesting picture. All of the
pictures are new, being of this month's issue.
Carcaba's Cigar Factory
The former St. Mary's Convent and Academy building on Cathedral Place becomes the Carcaba's Cigar
Factory. Cigars were big business in St. Augustine. Nearly four million cigars were manufactured there in 1903.
By 1909 one of the leading businesses in St. Augustine was cigar rolling. The Solla-Carcaba Cigar Factory at
88 Riberia Street was completed at this time as a building to be given away in a contest. Fred A. Henderick
made the plans for the building.
First Baptist Church of Hastings Organized
The First Baptist Church sponsored by Mt. Olive Baptist Church was organized in 1909 (incorporated 1926).
They first met in a tent, later the Masonic Hall until 1918 and then in church building on present site. In 1927 this
building was moved to the rear of the lot and a new building was constructed in the Colonial style, rectangular,
red brick veneer building with stained glass windows. In 1937 this building was dedicated. The first pastor was
Rev. T. U. Amara, 1909 - 10. In 1930 the Pastor was Rev. B. A. Roth who attended the National Bible
Institute in New York City and Mercer University in Macon, Ga. . By 1939 the membership was 302 with a
Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union (and 6 auxiliaries.)
Plaza Theatre Will Show Several Fine Films Tonight Gold Watch to be Given Away.
Everybody who sees the show tonight at the Plaza theatre will immediately sit up and take notice as one of the
best selections of films will be projected by that wonderful machine, the Bioscenigraph. Italy's Marvelous
Cavalry shows most daring and expert riding "The Kentucky Planter" depicts an exciting night rider story
"Meskal, the Smuggler," shows the most sensational of all films of this class and "The Man and the Sack" reels
off new comedy. One of the finest Travel Talks, wonderfully illustrated, entitled "The Streets of Cairo," will be
presented by Mr. Goddard this evening. The Yosemite Valley which was given las night was superb and
pleased the large audience. The colored views were among the finest that have been shown.
Tonight at 8:15 another watch will be given away. Go to the Plaza tonight and you will see a good show and
might be the lucky winner. Don't forget your coupons. Bring them with you.
Orange Street School
1910 saw the building of two of St. Augustine's institutions: 1. The Orange Street School. This school replaced
Public School #1 on Aviles Street. The building had originally been built in 1857 and although expanded many
times was no longer adequate for the student population. (Orange Street School picture and extended history of
the building of the school and school life 1910). (for an additional 60 pages of extracts on life in 1910 from the
St. Augustine Record) The Orange Street land was part of the old moat and had been deeded over to the
School Board by the United States for school purposes.
First Methodist Episcopal (South) - St. Augustine (Corner of Riberia and King)
The First Methodist Episcopal (South) and Trinity claim their beginnings in Bethel Methodist Church, the first
Methodist congregation in St. Augustine and probably in the State of Florida. Bethel was a biracial church
before the War of Rebellion. It worshiped in a coquina building that was located on St. George St. At the time
of the War of Rebellion the whites left the church. In the 1930s the Church leaders gave their start date as 1845
but today their website lists 1825. The church was not fully reorganized until 1906 but the congregation was
meeting before that date. A committee of the Florida Conference of the Methodist Episcopal, South met in St.
Augustine in January, 1910 to select a site for the church. They expected over $60,000 to be spent on the
building. In 1911 the church building was erected as a cream, square, brick building with a tower and pipe
organ. It was dedicated in 1914. The first pastor was Rev. C. C. Cecil who served from 1906-1908. In the
1936 the pastor was Rev. S. A. Wilson a graduate of Florida Southern College in Lake land, Florida. In 1937
Shelby A. Wilson was pastor. In 1943 Rev. Marvin H. Norton, D. D. was Pastor. Edward G. Hood was
Sunday School Superintendent The records for Bethel dating back to the 1820s are in the possession of Trinity
United Methodist Church.
1910 St. Augustine Record Newspaper (see extracts)
Frank Genovar and the Cuban Connection
In 1910 Frank Genovar returns to the United States after a 10 year absence in Cuba. At Tampa he gave a
newspaper interview about his experiences. He is the final link in the chain that begins with Father Miguel
O'Reilley who teachers Father Felix Varela who is the "Father of Cuban Independence" who helps write the
constitution of 1812, which St. Augustine builds a monument to, who comes back to St. Augustine. Frank
Genovar born in the era of Father Felix Varela helps rebuild Cuba after participating in its liberation.
The Town of Hastings in 1910
A progressive town of about 1200 people, on the Florida East Coast Railway, in St. Johns County, 54 miles
south of Jacksonville -- the New York of the South, 18 miles from St. Augustine, famous throughout the world
as a magnificent winter resort, and eight miles east of Palatka. A hard-surface road, connecting St. Augustine
and Palatka, runs through the settlement. It is only three miles from the beautiful and expansive St. Johns River,
and 17 miles from the Atlantic Ocean."
"The town has seven general stores, a brick hotel, one bank, two drug stores, two meat markets, a cold storage
and ice plant, one bakery, two large barrel factories, two livery stables, a grist mill, three doctors, one dentist,
telephone, telegraph and express service, water works, sewerage and cement sidewalks; also an electric light
plant is in contemplation. It has a fine school building, managed by an efficient corps of instructors, and a well-
attended Union Church and Sunday School.
First Baptist Church of Armstrong Organized
The First Baptist Church of Armstrong, an African American congregation was organized in 1910. It was
located 1/2 block East of the East Coast Railroad track. It was organized in a small frame church building
erected by the turpentine company. This burned in 1915. A frame building was erected. In 1928 this building
blew down and was re-erected. Again in 1939 it was blown down and re-erected. This church was a frame,
unpainted, country church type with a bell tower, bell and rectangular frame. The first pastor was Rev. Will
Gaynor from 1910-1913. In 1936 the pastor was Rev. R. B. McHelm.
Friendship Baptist Church Organized
African Americans also organized a church 1/2 mile north of Elkton through the National Baptist Convention in
1910. From 1910 till 1914 services were held in the homes of various members. In 1914 they built a church
which was used till 1938 when it was destroyed by fire. After meeting in homes again for a year they rebuilt the
church in 1939. It was a rectangular wooden structure 20 x 30 feet. The first pastor was Rev. S. A. Cummings
who served from 1914-1930. In 1936 the pastor was Rev. Richard Malone.
Grand Opening of the Ponce de Leon Hotel January 5, 1910
With the booming of the culvern from one of the towers, the flags fluttering to their places on the tall staffs at the
blast from the bugles and the strains of stirring music from the band, the great Ponce de Leon hotel opened for
the tourist season of 1910 this afternoon.
Promptly at the hour of three, the great portcullis at the main entrance was raised for the winter months. At the
same moment the culvern boomed out from one of the towers and the crowds waiting without poured in to
inspect the palatial hostelry.
Manager Robert Murray has been superintending the final preparations for the opening for two weeks or more
and everything was in readiness today for the beginning of what promises to be one of the most successful
seasons in the history of the hotel. The Ponce de Leon is Florida's pride and nothing has been left undone to
hold it up to just as high a standard this winter as ever.
Tonight in the spacious dinning room the opening dinner of the season will be enjoyed by many invited guests
from among St. Augustine's citizens as well as by the guests of the hotel. Every preparation has been made and
the hotel service from the very start will be second to none.
Throngs awaited the opening gun this afternoon and as soon as the portcullis shot up at the great main entrance
the crowds poured in to inspect the great hostelry. It is the custom to allow all to visit every part of the hotel and
grounds on the opening day and practically every visitor to the city takes advantage of the fact to see the Ponce
de Leon and there are always not a few residents of the city who are in the line of visitors.
A large number registered today and with the inauguration of the winter tourist service over the Florida East
Coast Railway and the opening of the Ponce de Leon the season may be said to be on in earnest. Every
indication points towards the heaviest tourist travel south this year of any previous season in the history of the
East Coast and there is little doubt but that the immense hotel will have an unusually large number of guests for
the opening week of the season.
As usual Mr. Murray has spared no effort in securing the members of his staff from among the very best and
most capable hotel attachés in the country. There are a few new faces among the members of the staff this
winter and all come from the best hotels of the north.
Miss Annie McKay is again with the hotel this season. Mr. A. E. Conklin, formerly of the Hotel Champlain in
New York, is the new room clerk. The other members of the staff are Mr. L. W. Maxson, cashier; Mr. J. E.
MacQuinn, bookkeeper and assistant cashier; Mr. E. J. Morrill, night clerk; Mr. B. J. Redmond, assistant room
and front clerk; Mr. Glenn A Miller, mail and front clerk; Mr. Martin W. Brazee, stenographer; Mr. N. S.
Beebe, steward; Mr. Joseph Stoltz, chief; W. T. White head waiter; Hance Howard, head bellman.
While the sky was overcast with clouds the weather was mild and delightfully pleasant. It was a most auspicious
opening for one of the most palatial and greatest of America's hotels.
Taking Moving Pictures. (January 12, 1910 St. Augustine Evening Record)
A party of Philadelphians visiting in the city on business combined with pleasure includes Messrs. A. D.
Hotaling, D. Herbline and M. Wageman. They are representatives of a large moving picture firm in Philadelphia
and will take a number of interesting views of our quaint historic town while visitors in St. Augustine. These
gentlemen are guests of the Florida House.
Interesting Pictures. St. Augustine is Scene of a Moving Picture Elopement. (January 13, 1910)
The representatives of a leading moving picture firm who have spent the past two days in the city have left for
Palm Beach where they will take a series of pictures. It is interesting to know that these people are
accompanied by several actors and actresses who pose for the moving pictures while the attractive settings are
found in the beauties of the places visited. Views of the most interesting portions of the Ancient City were taken.
Some of our quaint old buildings, old Fort Marion, the palatial hotels and our lovely tropical scenery will figure
largely in the interest of the pictures.
The story carried out in the pictures is one of an elopement and the opening scenes are laid in Philadelphia. Then
as the young people come south on their honeymoon they are next seen in St. Augustine, sight seeing., and the
contrast offered by our bright, sunshiny skies and tropical foliage to the snow and ice bound cities in the North is
forcible indeed. Scenes portraying the young couple in Palm Beach and Miami will next be shown and the views
displaying these cities will be most interesting.
This film will be shown in St. Augustine some time this winter in one of the local moving picture theatres, and will
attract much attention here as all will be anxious to witness these pictures containing this bit of local color.
If you wanted to party in St. Augustine the Casino's Washington Day Ball Was the place to be
Foremost among the social affairs that celebrated the birthday of George Washington was the grand ball given in
the Casino by Mr. Wm. McAuliffe, manager of the Hotel Alcazar. This was one of the most brilliant social
functions given in St. Augustine in years, and was enjoyed by hundreds of residents of the city, and a large
number of visitors from the various hotels.
The magnificent ball-room had, with the aid of artistic decorations, been transformed into a bower of beauty.
The great arches were draped with red, white and blue bunting, while large American flags and hundreds of tiny
ones arranged in most attractive designs adorned the walls. A large picture of the Father of Our Country draped
with our nation's colors, and illumined by many tiny varicolored electric lights occupied a prominent place in the
hall. Southern smilax, that most graceful of all vines, twined the pillars, and the effect of the glossy green leaves
in contrast to the white columns was exceedingly lovely. In the alcove, where punch was served during the
evening, quantities of smilax were used most artistically in draping the walls and arching the windows.
The beautiful ball-room thus adorned was a most lovely setting for the number of beautiful women who thronged
the room. The display of exquisite evening gowns rendered the brilliant scene like a great parterre of gorgeous
flowers, and this was illumined by the soft radiance from myriads of electric lights of the colors red, white and
The Ponce de Leon, under the direction of Professor Shaw, and the Alcazar orchestras, led by Mr. E. J. Quiry,
furnished the delightful music for the dances, and dance followed dance in rapid succession until eleven o'clock
when a delicious course supper was served the guests in the spacious dining room of the Hotel Alcazar. An hour
later dancing was resumed and continued until the wee small hours.
The dance cards bore on the covers excellent likeness of our first President. In dainty lettering the cards
contained beside the program of dances the names of the patronesses and members of the floor committee, and
formed very pretty souvenirs of this brilliant ball.
Business Part Flooded (The Bemjedi Daily Pioneer, October 19, 1910)
St. Augustine, Fla., inundated as Result of Storm.
St. Augustine, Fla., Oct., 19. -- The entire business section of St. Augustine is flooded with inrushing sea water,
while the wind and waves are still rising, with no indication of when their limit will be reached. The water is
pouring over the seawall from the highest storm tide in sixteen years. So far there has been no loss of life.
All night rockets were fired in the city to warn the residents of outlying sections of their peril.
Morning found street car traffic tied up, some of the cars standing deep in the water. The prospects were that
no trains would be able to arrive or leave the city during the day.
By 9 o'clock a.m. the wind was blowing sixty miles an hour. Last reports before wires went down along the
Florida east coast were that the wind velocity was terrific.
Florida Center of Destruction by Storm (El Pasco Herald, October 19, 1910)
What undoubted will prove to be one of the most destructive of storms has swept the entire Florida peninsula,
doing damage estimated at several million dollars.
Forty thousand square miles of territory south of Jacksonville was without communication with the outside world
for more than 24 hours. The last reports from this section embracing all that territory south of a line from Tampa
to St. Augustine told of hurricane winds and rapidly falling barometers.
St. Augustine and Business Suspends
At low tide water was breaking over the sea walls here and high tide flooded many streets. Power plants were
out of commission and the city was in darkness. Stores are closed, with water running into lower floors.
Adolphus Cary's Home Burns (Monroe City Democrat, December 15, 1910)
Fire yesterday afternoon completely destroyed the beautiful suburban home of A. E. Cary, well known citizen
and prominent business man of New Augustine. His home was located on the Moultrie road just south of
Oyster creek. The loss will total several thousand dollars, the property being only partly covered by insurance.
The flames are supposed to have sprung from sparks from the chimney alighting on the roof.
Mr. Cary was at dinner when the fire started. There was the usual cheery blaze in the fireplace of the home and
the family had no suspicion of trouble until their attention was attracted by the shouts of neighbors. Mr. Cary
discovered that the roof was in flames. He had one chemical fire extinguisher at hand and did good work with
this but the flames spread too fast, fanned by the wind.
Neighbors also lent their assistance but in vain and they then turned their attention to saving all of the household
Mr. Cary carried $1,000 insurance with Pacetti & Snow on his home and $250 on his furniture. This, however
covers but a small part of his loss as his home was a large and handsomely appointed one.
Bishop Foley Consecrated (The Palestine Daily Herald, December 15, 1910)
St. Augustine, Fla., Dec. 15. -- In the presence of a great gathering of prelates and priests of the south and of
the Catholic laity of this diocese the Rev. Maurice P. Foley was today consecrated bishop of the diocese of
Tuguegarao, Phillippine Islands. The consecrating prelate was Bishop Kenny of St. Augustine. He was assisted
by Bishop Morris of Little Rock and Bishop Allen of Mobile. The consecration sermon was preached by Rev.
J. J. Navin, S. J., of Tampa.
In 1911, local businessman Charles F. Hopkins, Jr. arranged with the Curtis Exhibition Company to conduct
airplane flights here with two noted aviators, James J. Ward and J.A.D. McCurdy. They flew on the bay front
Traveling (The San Mateo, May 27, 1911)
Mr. Robert Ranson, a former resident of Titusville, but now of St. Augustine, left for England on Friday, to
study the scientific production of peat. Mr. Reginald White, assistant cashier of the First National Bank, St.
Augustine, also left the same day, to attend the coronation festivities of King George in London.
The board of public health for the City of St. Augustine issued rules for the improvement of health in 1912. This
board had been very active in St. Augustine since almost the beginning of the Territorial Period.
Hangings (The Day Book, June 1, 1912)
St. Augustine Fla. --- 3 negroes hanged on scaffold. 2 murdered Jacksonville grocer. Other murdered another
Canfield lays out the Town of Armstrong
The community of Armstrong began Oct. 5, 1912, when developers Heth Canfield and J.L. Crary laid out Armstrong
on behalf of The Clay Bottom Farms Company, which owned a large tract of land near the railroad station there. From
the St. Augustine Record:
"TOWN FOR NEGROES IS BEING LAID OUT IN ARMSTRONG SECTION: Heth Canfield and J.L. Crary went to
Armstrong this morning to lay out a town for colored people. Streets will be laid out at once and many small cottages
will be erected A brick store building will be erected for the convenience of the inhabitants, and a thriving little town
will materialize with the next few months."
This settlement will be a great convenience to the colored people who work on the farms at Elkton and it will also be a
great convenience to the residents of Elkton, who will have labor nearby, at the same time not bringing the settlement
into their own community."
D. D. Corbett becomes County Superintendent
A Dental Clinic is started at St. Augustine school (Orange Street) All white public school students are examined
and their teeth treated free of charge with John T. Dismukes paying the dentist's salary. A 2 year commercial
course with nine typewriters, and the following classes: shorthand, typewriting, bookkeeping, commercial law,
business arithmetic, business English, spelling and penmanship. Hot lunches were served in the basement of the
Orange Street High School building and a special tax district was created in Hastings for schools.
|Dr. Bronson's St. Augustine History Page
The Progressive Era to 1913
ab urbe condita - 335 to 347
|See Sanburn Fire Maps for street
by street, building by building detail
1904 St. Augustine
1910 St. Augustine
1904 New Augustine Directory
|Admiral George Dewey
Hero of the Spanish American War
|First Baptist Church of Hastings
|1st Methodist Episcopal Church (South)
|Trinity Episcopal Church
|St. Agnes Catholic Church
State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory,
|Y. M. C. A.
|President William Howard Taft
|Governor Napoleon Broward
|Governor of Florida
|Like us on
|St. Augustine of Hippo
|Interior 1st National Bank