|Saint James Baptist Church
An African American Congregation was organized in Vermont Heights 1/2 mile north of State Road #189. It
was part of the National Baptist Convention of the United States. They erected a building in 1890 that was a
rectangular wooden building not painted with a bell. The first pastor was C. C. Coleman from 1890. In 1936
the pastor was Richard Malone.
East Coast Hospital
Railway employees first went to the Alicia Hospital but space reserved was so inadequate and the attention
so poor that during a latter part of the year none of the employees needing attention could be prevailed upon
to enter the hospital. Next they rented a house (at least for the whites - blacks were treated in a barn). Fifty
cents a month was assessed from each employee for their health care.
The original building was occupied in 1891. The hospital was originally for the treatment of the ill and injured
among the employees and their families of the F. E. C. Railway throughout the state. In the 1894 Chief
Surgeon Annual report $361.50 was paid to surgeons, 136 people were treated at the cost of $2.65 per
patient. Dr. Shine was the chief surgeon that year.
Dr. S. G. Worley helped establish the hospital. He had been in Kissimmee for seven years when he was
called to St. Augustine to organize the railroad hospital and establish a training school for nurses in
connection with his duties as chief Surgeon. He was chief surgeon by at least 1896. He was born in
Tennessee, attended Tulane University, and was graduated from the Atlanta Medical College. Before
Florida, he practiced in Louisiana, Georgia, and Texas.
Dr. Alexander Graham Bell Visits
Dr. Bell the inventor of the telephone stayed at the Alcazar and was entertained by the deaf children from the
Florida Institute for the Deaf and Blind.
St. Benedict the Moor
While African-American Catholics have been in St. Augustine since the founding., in the 1890 a property on
Martin Luther King avenue was given to the Catholic Church. Bishop Moore found the property which was
deeded to the church by Mademoiselle Stella Dumas an elderly French lady. The purpose was a school and
a church for African-Americans. The school was erected in 1898 with most of the money donated by Saint
Mother Catherine Drexel.
The church was dedicated on February 5, 1911. The church is St. Benedict the Moor. The church is located
at the S.W. corner of St. Francis St and old Central Avenue (Martin Luther King). It's governing body was The
Society of St. Joseph of the Sacred Heart in Baltimore Maryland. The cornerstone was laid September 19,
1909 and the building was completed early in the year of 1911. The building is rectangular with red bricks in
a Roman architectural style. The church has 14 stained glass windows, a bell, bell tower, pipe organ, five
statues and composition altars. From 1911-1914 the church parish was attended as a mission from the
Cathedral until in 1914 the Josephite Fathers of Baltimore took over the work. The first rector was Rev.
James Albert from 1914-17 who was educated at Josephite Seminary in Baltimore. In 1937 the Rector was
Rev. M. P. Morrissey who was educated at St. Mary's Seminary in Baltimore, Md. By 1938 that had 162
baptisms, 231 confirmations, 105 marriages, and 500 members had passed through the church with 110
The were home to an order of Knights of St. John Com. No. 87 which dated back to 1887. They also had The
Society of St. Frances de Chantel which was started by Bishop Verot. Another society for women was the
Young Ladies Society of St. Cecilia Ladies Auxiliary of the Knights of St. John.
St. Cyprian Protestant Episcopal Mission
St. Cyprian's was formed in 1891. The African-American Episcopal church replaced most of the
African-American members going to Trinity Episcopal. Services were first held in a private home on
Washington Street that was rented for the purpose of holding services from 1891 to 1901. In 1896 the
church met at Witsell's Hall on Spanish Street. In 1897 the group moved to Treasury Street with Rev.
Emmanuel. Rev. Syracuse took the church to Washington Street next to the Odd Fellows Hall. The current
location was reached in 1899 by the donation of a lot on Central Avenue (Dr. Martin Luther King Street) and
Lovett Streets by Emma White.
These services were conducted under the leadership of Julia Jackson, from Nassau, who came to St.
Augustine during the latter part of 1890 who saw that there was no place for African American Episcopalians
to have worship or Sunday School. The church building was constructed on the corner of Lovett St. and
Martin Luther King Ave. in 1901 with the first service held in November. The church is a wooden structure
oblong in shape and covered with cypress shingles. The church and the bell were given by Miss Emma
White of New York who had the plans drawn, bought the lot and paid for the building of the church. The
Archdeacon of the church was C. W. Cassey who served from 1901-1917. In the 1920s and 30s the
Archdeacon was W. T. Wood who was a graduate of the Right Reverend Bishop Payne's Divinity School in
Thomas Hastings, Henry Flagler and the Founding of the Town of Hastings (not the architect of the
Ponce de Leon) Thomas Hastings and Mary Esther Mellon were married in 1884. Their daughter, Elsie
(nick-named Tots by her brothers), was born in 1886. Henry Flagler and Thomas Hastings could have shared
some of the same visionary traits Henry Flagler and Thomas' mother were cousins.
Thomas Hastings and his family moved to Florida about 1890. They settled on 1569 acres west of St.
Augustine ... owned by the Model Land Co... which Mr. Hastings named Prairie Garden. But as early as
August, 1892, the area was known as Hastings farm or Hastings station.
There were two purposes for the farm: to grow vegetables for Flagler's hotels and to experiment with different
crops and different farming methods. Tom Hastings must have enjoyed farming, for he and his family lived at
Prairie Garden for ten years.
His son, George, wrote: When I visited my father in Florida ... he had the same enthusiasm and believed that
Florida would raise fresh vegetables for the big hotels of the north as well as for Flagler's hotels in Florida. I
remember ...his feeling that by expert care the vegetables would be of such superior quality they would
command big prices...
In 1933, Thomas Hastings cousin, Bill Pusey, wrote about the farm: ... A home was built, drainage ditches
dug and garden plots laid out. Hastings set out to experiment with cauliflower, cabbage, Bermuda onions
and rice. He built a large hot house for seed beds and winter cucumbers.
In a year, 3000 tomato plants were growing in his tomato house, and... vegetables were being cultivated on a
large scale. The farm was known as the Hastings Prairie Garden Sub-irrigation farm.... In addition to
Hastings residence, there were cabins to house 50 men who were employed on the place.
Unfortunately, Thomas Hastings took ill in 1896 and the family moved to St. Augustine, where he died on
June 10, 1897.
Thomas Hastings, the architect with Carrere & Hastings who designed the Ponce de Leon Hotel in St.
Augustine, and Thomas Horace Hastings were distant cousins their great grandfathers were brothers.
The Pauley Jail Company of St. Louis, Missouri builds the St. Johns County Jail in 1891. The money funding
it was paid by Henry Flagler. This building is today's Old Jail. In December 1891 however a rather odd
incident almost derails Sheriff Perry. He is arrested for malicious destruction of property and an assault on
Mr. Alex Canova. The sheriff plead guilty to the charge and was assessed damages and costs. The
newspaper responded that "The recent actions of the genial sheriff cause much surprise among his friends
here." (Old Jail near PDL)(1888 Bidding for New Jail)(Bid by the Pauley Jail Company) (Building the Jail)
(Bricks for the Jail) (Contractor for County Jail)
Hanlou's Men Going South (The Evening World, March 17, 1891)
Pittsburg, Pa., March 16. -- The directors of the Pittsburg Ball Club met to-day and decided to send the team
to St. Augustine, Fla. for Spring practice. The players have been ordered to report on Saturday next and they
will leave here on the 23d. Exhibition games will be played there with the Cleveland team. The Pittsburgs will
also play three games in Havana and one at Key West, they having received a guarantee of $1,500 for these
games. The directors also today released Pitchers Galvin and Hooker. The latter will captain and manage
the Fort Wayne team. Galvin's release was a disappointment to friends of the local club, but Jimmy and
Manager Hanlon were "on the outs:" and the director thought it better to lose a good man and keep
harmon7y in the team.
Flagler Buys an Orange Grove in San Mateo
Mr. Henry M. Flagler bought the famous S. H. Bacon 16 acre orange grove at San Mateo which another 12
acre grove that he purchased. Mr. Henry J. Ritchie who is a grove owner at San Mateo made the sale for the
parties and was placed in charge of Mr. Flagler's grove property there....The 16 acre grove yielded this
season over 4,000 boxes of fruit.
Visitors Numerous at St. Augustine (The New York Tribune, December 6, 1891)
The Season Giving Early Promise of Prosperity
The Alcazar has opened and the "season" may be said to have begun. Every train brings tourists, and never
before has there been such an influx at this early date. The new express from the Southwest, known as the
"Dixie flyer," is already running with good business. The "Florida special" vestibule train from New York will
begin running early in January, and a similar train from Chicago, which is to run through to St. Augustine, will
be put on soon, and will greatly add to the travel from that region. Still another special train will be put on
during the during the season, leaving New York at 9:15 a.m. and reaching St. Augustine on the afternoon of
the next day.
Fifty-four new rooms have been added to the Alcazar, but they will go only a short way to accommodate the
crowds who in the past have been unable to find houseroom during the height of the season. Already the
steamship lines from New York are sending down seven crowded boats every week.
The demand for modern cottages has exceeded the supply, and a large addition to the permanent winter
cottage colony has been made. J. Edward Addicks, the Boston millionaire, will occupy the large Anderson
cottage with his family. He will keep his steam yacht, Now Then, here during the winter.G. W. Folsom and
family of Lenox, will return to the Carr cottage, and Mason Young and family have leased the Ammidown villa
for another winter. Franklin W. Smith and family, of Boston, will take possession of the Moorish "Villa
Zorayda" some time in January.
Other prominent cottagers will include Mr. and Mrs. Henry Cutting, of New York, who are already here; the
Misses Wurtz, of Philadelphia, who have taken the smaller Anderson cottage; N. D. Batterson, of Buffalo; the
Messrs. Brooks and W. H. Hall, of Chicago; H. R. duval and family, of New York; Judge Swayne and family
and Mrs. Hugh Willoughby, of Newport. W. G. Warden , of Philadelphia, will occupy his palatial residence on
the "Shell road" early in January, and the Misses Gilbert, of Gilbertsville, will spend the winter in the extensive
place opposite the Ponce de Leon as usual.
Senator Matthew S. Quay has already opened the tarpon fishing season and has had great success, landing
large fish at Indian River Inlet, south of this place.
Captain John C. Mallory, corps of engineers, United States Army, has relieved Captain W. M. Black, in
charge of the Florida river and harbor improvements, with headquarters at St. Augustine.
The army post at the "Barracks," which is one of the attractive features for winter visitors, has been
increased by the band of the 5th Infantry. Concerts are given daily. Lieutenant-Colonel D. L. Huntington,
surgeon United States Army, returned last week after four months leave of absence.
The scheme for the much-needed ferry for vehicles to Anastasia Island has unfortunately not materialized.
Drives are the one thing needed here, and the superb beach, half a mile wide and fifteen miles long level as
a floor, would make an ideal drive if it were more accessible. It can now be used for bathing parties, although
it is very popular with bicycle riders, who think nothing of a thirty-mile spin to Matanzas and back.
The Right Rev. Bishop Moore, of the Roman Catholic Church, and Bishop Weed, of the Episcopal Church,
will both spend most of the winter here.
The wonderful artesian wells of this region have always been an enigma to scientists and an astonishment to
novices. An exhaustless stream of water will spout over twenty feet high by drilling down anywhere in this part
of the country. The beautiful body of water known as Iamonia Lake, near this place, has recently been an
additional source of curiosity. Its tranquil beauty has given it wide fame, and its serene waters, so long
crowned with luxuriant magnolia forests, and teeming with living creatures, have attracted thousands of
visitors. It is about thirteen miles long and one mile wide. Its waters suddenly disappeared a few days ago,
leaving an oblong muddy pool 100 feet by twenty feet in width. In the middle of this pool is a fissure and a line
over 100 feet long has been let down into it without reaching the bottom. The phenomenon happened some
years ago and the lake shortly filled up again.
The tennis tournament will be held early in March, as usual, preceded by that at Magnolia. More experts than
ever are planning to compete, being attracted by the additional chances offered to win handsome prizes. If
O. S. Campbell, the present "tropical champion," as well as National champion, wins the silver trophy another
year, it becomes his personal property.
The St. Augustine Women's Exchange Founded
In 1892 the St. Augustine women's Exchange was founded. The organization was dedicated to helping
women in need. Elizabeth Anderson (wife of Dr. Andrew Anderson) and Clarissa Anderson were both
presidents of the Woman's Exchange. Mrs. Henry (Mary Lilly Kenan) Flagler was a member of The Woman's
Exchange and, of course, Miss Anna Burt, longtime treasurer, Dr. Seth Peck's granddaughter.
In the beginning they would have a store in the Alcazar Hotel. This is their ad from the 1895 Tatler:
Woman's Exchange, Alcazar, St. Augustine, Fla.
Fresh homemade Cake, Candy and Pastry on hand
Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, Lunches put up to order.
Orders for Preserves, Jellies, and marmalades of tropical fruits, either wholesale or retail, promptly
Orders for plain sewing and mending promptly executed.
In 1932 the Women's Exchange were given the responsibility of the Pena-Peck house.
Funeral of Sarah Mather (Times Union April 19, 1894)
The funeral services over the body of Sarah Ann Mather were begun at her home on King street by Rev. John
McGonigle. Afterwards the body was taken to the Memorial Presbyterian church, of which the deceased was
a worthy member, being followed by numerous friends, former pupils and by the colored mission
Sunday-school and children of the colored home and many other colored people. At the church, Rev. Mr.
McGonigle gave a brief sketch of the deceased's life, choosing for his theme "Blessed are the dead who die
in the Lord, for their works do follow them." He drew from the story of her life a beautiful lesson of quiet,
unassuming work, in the master's service. "Rock of Ages" and " Asleep in Jesus" were sung. Four colored
men, Edward Andrew, Frederick Young, M. Boyleston and Ed Myers, carried the coffin, the honorary
pall-bearers being C. F. Hamblen, E. N. Goodrich, J. C. Reynolds and A. K. Rainey. The body was interred in
the New Augustine cemetery.
Storm (Daily Public Ledger, September 29, 1894)
St. Augustine had been cut off for 4 days from Jacksonville. These advices were brought by Mrs. Anna M.
Marcotte, the Times-Union's St. Augustine reporter, who made the trip on a handcar. Mrs. Marcotte gave a
graphic account of the condition of things at St. Augustine. No lives were lost, but several houses were
wrecked, and the loss will run into the thousands.
Nearly all the windows of the city were blown in and the houses flooded with water. The Ponce de Leon hotel
was damaged in this way. The loss on the hotel furniture is heavy. At St. Augustine the waves dashed over
the sea walls and made rivers of the streets. Many wharves were blown away.
Between Jacksonville and St. Augustine not a telegraph pole was left standing.
Ancient City Baptist
The Ancient City Baptist Church was built in 1895 on land donated by Henry Flagler. It is the first masonry
Baptist church in the state of Florida. The church is part of the Southern Baptist Convention and located at
the corner of Seville and Carrera Streets. The Church had been organized on January 20, 1887 but it would
not be incorporated until June 10, 1938. It originally conducted its services in the Genovar Theatre on St.
George street between Hypolita and Treasury Streets. The new building was Norman Architecture, yellow
bricks, with a round tower and organ. Additions were made in 1924. The first pastor was Rev. Dr. G. I.
Johnson, 1894-1898. In 1904 E. N. Bell was pastor. In 1937 A. E. Calkins was pastor. The church had a
Bible School, Baptist Training Union, Junior, Intermediate, Senior and Adult Unions, Brotherhood Mrs. Arthur
Manucy was the organist and Mr. Owen Griffin was the choir director. In 1943 Reverend Dr. J. L. Rosser was
pastor. L. O. Davis was the Sunday School Superintendent.
A Land-Mark Sold (Bradford County Telegraph, February 22, 1895)
Tourists visiting St. Augustine during the past decade have often inquired why the "Old Waltham House" had
gone out of existence as a winter resort, for it was a favorite with many old-timers, who were possibly
ignorant of the fact that the old coquina building had sheltered wayfarers during the eighteenth, and, it is said,
also the seventeenth century. It is claimed that this property was at one time the "St. Johns Inn," wherein
many Spanish dons and senoritas reveled during the regime of Spain in the Ancient City. Mr. C. F. Sulzner
secured the property recently and it has again been sold to C. T. Anderson, of Reading, Pa., who buys it as
an investment at the cash consideration of $4,000. The purchaser is a manufacturer of jewelry, and it is
hoped that he may reset this old land-mark and bring it out again in its old-time glory.
Sanctified Holy Church
This church was located on Anderson St. and Dixie Highway. The membership was white. This church
preached a simplified religion. It was in an up and down board tabernacle with a sawdust floor. In 1938 a
new building was erected same as before. The church had no pastor.
As the hotels grew throughout the 1890s news of and about the hotels dominated the social scene. The
Tatler Magazine was started to help keep people informed of the events at the hotels (through the state of
Florida) throughout the winter season. The remarkable woman behind the magazine was Anna Marcotte. For
a glimpse of The Tatler reporting see the description of Flagler's Hotels 1894. (See also Flagler's 1890s
Steamer Transportation to St. Augustine
There was the railroads but there also was the water transportation or combinations of them. The Clyde line
was one of many that transported people to Florida and the St. Augustine hotels. (See Clyde Steamship Co.)
The Women's Christian Temperance Union was active in St. Augustine. It was part of several Temperance
Unions working the St. Augustine area. (See 1896 story of meeting)
On April 21, 1896 the first meeting to organize a DAR chapter in St. Augustine was called by Mrs. Maria
Jefferson Epps Shine, wife of Dr. William F. Shine, and great granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson, third
president of the US and writer of the Declaration of Independence.
This preliminary meeting was held at the home of Mrs. Shine, April 21, 1896, and it was decided to name the
new chapter "The Jefferson Chapter." Mrs. Shine had been appointed Organizing Regent by the State
Regent, Mrs. D. G. Ambler. But Mrs. Shine died that fall before a final organization was completed, as she
had been unable to procure the twelve members necessary to form a chapter.
The matter was then dropped until January 1898, when Mrs. Ann S. Woodruff was asked to re-organize the
chapter and become its regent. Mrs. Woodrull was appointed and confirmed as organizing regent by the
National Board on February 3, 1898. She organized the chapter, which was renamed "Maria Jefferson
Chapter". (Charter Members)
Diego Union Church Formed (became Diego Baptist Church)
In 1896 under the trees in Palm Valley had a new church. They would meet under the trees until 1900 when
the building was constructed. The building was colonial style, a rectangular frame building white with green
trim. The first pastor was Rev. Dorsey Andrews who served from 1896-1900, followed by Rev. G C. Andress
from 1900-14. In 1914 it became Diego Baptist Church.
In 1898 another Moorish Revival house was built called Villa Flora. It's located at 234 St. George Street. The
house was built by a Baptist minister (Rev. O. A. Weenolsen of Minneapolis) and his wife who were winter
residents of St. Augustine. The house has a raised basement and a porch base of coquina. In 1906 the
house was purchased by Alanson and Bessie Wood. After his death it became a small hotel run by his wife.
In the 1920s and 30s it was a restaurant. Villa Flora was purchased in 1941 by Sister Theresa Joseph Brown the
Reverend Mother and is still the property of the Sisters of St. Joseph. The basement was used as a kindergarten
with Sister Patrick Theresa as the teacher. The top floor has a small chapel. The house serves as the house
of formation (Novitiate) for the sisters. In 1975 Brown Hall was constructed behind the Villa and contains 10
In 1898 what is today called Wiley Hall on 6 Valencia Street was built by McGuire and McDonald. The
original purpose of this building was to house the hotel physician. The house was originally called the Casa
Amarylla ("yellow house").
Sons of Israel
In 1898 the Sons of Israel Synagogue was started by a man named Jacob Tarlinsky. Early congregants were
I. Eff, J. A. Lew, S. A. Snyder, David Gerstel, Morris Friedman, Moses Kukowsky, Jacob Ross, Harry Ross,
Max Eff, W. A. Pinkoson, N. Gamse, A. L. Kass and d. Mehlman. The original congregation contained the
Micvah and the women sat upstairs away from the men. Finally it was decided to build a barricade the height
of the chair backs to separate the two and let the women sit downstairs. In 1908 the Congregation was
incorporated. It was an Orthodox congregation. Before the church was built members met in the homes of
various members. The synagogue's cornerstone was laid May 3, 1923 at 163 Cordova Street. The building
was a square brick building with a white plastered exterior. The synagogue was completed and opened
March 30, 1924. The building was designed by Francis A. Hollingsworth and built by Jim Keller. The stained
glass windows came from Ahawas Achim and Orthodox synagogue in Atlanta. The first Rabbi was L. Jaffe
from 1923-1927. In 1936 the Rabbi was Phillip Zirsman. He was trained in Russia.
The school system was required from the beginning to made census information available about the number
of children in the St. Johns County area. Only one of those censuses have been found --- 1892 Census
completed by Peter Arnau. This document became extremely important in the 1930s as it was used to verify
the ages of people applying for Social Security.
In 1896 on the state report a short history of St. Augustine Public Schools is given. (Teachers in the Flagler
St. Josephs Academy had three departments primary (which included a kindergarten), Junior and Senior.
The school had 150 students some as boarders. The school was run by Sister M. Eulalia.
Ida Alice Shourds
Henry Flagler had 3 wives. The first wife died before he decided to start his Florida adventure. However, the
second wife Ida Alice was probably a very strong motivating factor in getting the St. Augustine Hotels started.
However she was very strong willed, childless, and probably not very appreciative of Henry's attraction to
younger women. After reigning as Queen of the St. Augustine Social life she became insane in the late
1890s. The insanity would continue for the rest of her life.
School at the turn of the century
In 1896 E. Reynolds became the school superintendent. He was the son of the second school
superintendent. The school system was segregated and still supporting the Catholic school system. The
community support for the schools augmented the tax base.
St James Baptist Church
On April 3, 1898 St. James was organized at Cathedral Place Lincoln Park in West Augustine as an African
American church. From 1898 - 1914 it met at Cooks Hall on the corner of West King and Whitney Streets. It
was part of the National Baptist Convention of the United States. The church building was erected in 1914 as
a square wooden building with a tower painted white. On June 18, 1922 the bell was given by the members
of the congregation . They also gave a piano and a reed organ. The first pastor of the church was Rev.
Johnson Murray from 1909 - 1910. On February 1, 1938 Rev. C. J. Watkins who received his education at
Florida Normal and Industrial School was pastor.
The Spanish American War and the Philippine Insurrection
Before the Spanish-American War St. Augustine was a rallying spot for Cuban revolutionaries. Dr. Jose
Marti the "Father of Cuban Independence" came to town. Here they received the revolutionary flag sewn by
Ann, Amy and Alice McMillan. (See Frank Genovar, Rev. MacGonigle - A Christian Nation)
In 1898 the U. S. Government asked Florida for one regiment of troops in twelve companies for service in the
Spanish-American War. St. Augustine sent two companies of which one ---The St. Augustine Rifles was
accepted (list). Unfortunately the Florida Regiment took up guard duty along the coast of the United States
and did not see active combat. Starting in Tampa the regiment was transferred to Fernandina. Finally they
were sent to Huntsville, Alabama. George W. Beverly, Albert B. Buxton, Alvin M. Willis, Edward J. Owin,
Harold F. Neligan, and Wallace Leonardy died during the conflict. You can follow along the activities of the
St. Augustine Rifles as it goes to Tampa to prepare for war in the St. Augustine Daily Herald
For African-Americans participation in the Spanish-American War was more difficult. You would have
needed to be in a regular U.S. Army unit (Buffalo soldiers). However that didn't keep St. Augustine's from
trying. (Story of Lisbon Sessions) African-Americans from Lincolnville (general African-American history of
the event) participated in the regular army during the Philippine Insurrection.
This was the last action that the Castillo would officially see. It served as a prison for deserters. One of those
prisoners was Corporal William I. Ellington, Company K, Fourth United States Volunteer Infantry, having been
tried and found guilty oviolation of the twenty-first, twenty-second, and thirty-eighth articles of war by a general
court-martial convened at Fredericksbury, Va., was sentenced "to be honorably discharged the service of the
United States, forfeiting all pay and allowances, and to be confined at such prison as the reviewing authority
may direct for the period of three years." The sentence was approved and was executed at St. Francis
Barracks, St. Augustine, Fla.
The Post Office Park Fountain was added in 1899 to the west end of the plaza.
At a Ripe "Old Age (St. Augustine Evening Record, Nov 13, 1899)
Bettle Holmes (an aged colored woman) also known as Bettle Anderson passed away Saturday evening at
the ripe age of 97 years. She was the oldest colored resident of this city, and an ex-slave of the Anderson
family. Dr. Anderson provided for the old woman from the time she was unable to take care of herself. The
funeral was held yesterday afternoon, and largely attended by colored residents.
Died - T. W. Bruce (St. Augustine Evening Record, Nov. 13, 1899)
Mr. T. W. Bruce died suddenly yesterday morning at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Eli Mallette, on Cincinnati
avenue. The sad news spread rapidly over the city, shocking his numerous friends and acquaintances.
He was Senior Vice Department Commander of the Florida G. A. R. charter member and ex-Post
cCommander of the Chatfield Post, No. 11 G. A. R., St. Augustine. Also the Past Worshipful Master of Ashlor
Lodge, No. 98, F. and A. M.
The deceased was born at Lempster, N. H., September 30, 1831. He came to St. Augustine about twenty
years ago and made this city his home. He was a member of the Methodist Church, and also a Mason in
high standing. He twice represented the First Ward in the City Council, with credit to himself and advantage
to his ward. He leaves a widow, a son, and daughter to mourn his loss.
Ex-Mayor John G. Long appointed Consul General to Egypt (see story)
The Last Pirate
1900 saw the death of what must have been the last of the pirates to come through St. Augustine. His story
was carried in all the papers and in the 1930s he even made it into the WPA records 30+ years after his
death. Juan Gomez was the last pirate. (His obit)
Go to Progressive Era
|Dr. Bronson's St. Augustine History Page
Flagler Era - 1890 to 1900
ab urbe condita - 367 to 377
|St. Benedict the Moor
|St. Mother Catherine Drexel's
St. Benedict the Moor School
|Congregation Sons of Israel
|James E. Ingraham House
32 Sevilla Street
|End of an Era with the death of
Rebecca Perit and Sarah A. Mather
|January 13, 1895
|Like us on
|President William McKinnley
1896 - 1901
|President Benjamin Harrison
|President Grover Cleveland
|St. Augustine of Hippo