1910 - 1920
About 1906, DuPont moved to Hastings where he purchased a home and farm. In 1910, he incorporated the Hastings
Development Company with J. F. Lambert and I. I. Moody of Bunnell, and G. W. Waller of Hastings. DuPont served as
the company's initial president and general manager, opening real estate for residential development. Surveyor R. M.
Burt laid out one of the company's largest developments in 1913, a twenty-five block area north of Hastings's downtown,
which formed the basis for the town's African-American neighborhood and most significant source of laborers. Farther
north, DuPont competed with Bartolo Genovar to introduce potato culture on a large scale at Elkton, purchasing land
from the railroad company, dredging a three-mile canal, and clearing land
Cotton at Hastings (The Florida East Coast Railway Homeseeker, 1910)
Both long and short staple cotton are grown in large quantities in Florida. Cotton is the second crop in value in this
country and is one of the most valuable crops that the farmer can produce under present conditions.
Hastings, Florida, the great potato section, is to grow cotton with the expectation that it will greatly add to its
wealth-making products. It is planned to put in more than 100 acres during this month of May, and it is quite probable
that the greater part of this acreage will be sea island cotton, in which Florida stands first among the States in
Great interest will be felt in St. Johns county in the outcome of this new crop, as, if it is a success, it will tremendously
enhance the value of St. Johns county lands among the farmers.
1911-12 (Florida Gazetteer)
HASTINGS ... Population 150. On the F. E. C. Ry., in St. John's county, 17 miles southwest of St. Augustine, the county
seat. Has a bank and one hotel. Exp. Southern. Tel W U. R. C. Harris, postmaster.
Barnard, Edwin I. - manager, W. U. Tel. Co.
Brown, Fletcher L. - general store
Bugbee & Brown (F. E. Bugbee, B. L. Brown) - confectioners
Cody, John A. - city tax assessor
Coe, Ray M. - mayor
Crews, Domingo C. - saloon
Cunningham, M. E. - livery
Dupont, Charles A. - livery
Fox, W. B. - veterinary surgeon
Godman & Holmes (S. H. Godman, A. M. Holmes) - saloon
Green, Charles E. - Marshall
Hall, Wm. T. - barber
Harris, Reuben C. - postmaster
Hastings Banking Co. (capital $30,000), Neil McQueen, pres; R. C. Harris vice pres; J. W. Case cashier
Hastings Cold Storage Co. (F. E. Bugbee pres; Frank Nix vice pres; Ray Coe sec. and mgr) - ice mfgrs. and meats
Hastings Development Co. (C. A. Dupont, pres; T. R. Byrd vice pres; G. W. Waller sec; E. E. Durkee treas) - real estate
Hastings Pharmacy - C. A. Lattin propr.
Hastings Telephone Exchange (B. L. Brown, F. E. Bugbee)
Hastings Wagon Works (L. F. LaFontisee)
Holmes, Asop M. - grocer
Hotel Hastings - J. W. Sealey propr.
Hughes, J. B. & Co. (J. B. Hughes, J. W. Estes) - general store
Johnson, Patrick - dentist, city clerk and tax collector
Kearn, Parnell - railroad and exp. agt.
Killingsworth, L. S. - general store
Klicker, Walter T. - tailor
Kukowsky, Philip - general store
Lattin, C. A. - phys., city treasurer
Levine, Joseph - saloon
McCullough, J. & Co. (Jackson and W. R. McCullough) - meats
Malloy, Henry M. - grocer
Padgett, Benjamin L. - physician
Peck, I. N. - contractor
Ponce, R. A., J. B. Hughes agt. - undertaker
Pruitt, Elias C. - truck grower
Sealy, J. W. - insurance
Seymour, S. J. & Son (S. J. and F. M.) - general store
Sparks, Mrs. Donie - grocer
Trueman Drug Co. - E. G. Coe, mgr.
Waller, George W. - insurance agent
Western Union Telegraph Co. - E. I. Barnard, mgr.
First Baptist Church of Hastings Organized
The First Baptist Church sponsored by Mt. Olive Baptist Church was organized in 1909 (incorporated 1926). They first
met in a tent, later the Masonic Hall until 1918 and then in church building on present site. In 1927 this building was
moved to the rear of the lot and a new building was constructed in the Colonial style, rectangular, red brick veneer
building with stained glass windows. In 1937 this building was dedicated. The first pastor was Rev. T. U. Amara, 1909 -
10. In 1930 the Pastor was Rev. B. A. Roth who attended the National Bible Institute in New York City and Mercer
University in Macon, Ga. . By 1939 the membership was 302 with a Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's
Missionary Union (and 6 auxiliaries.)
The Town of Hastings in 1910
A progressive town of about 1200 people, on the Florida East Coast Railway, in St. Johns County, 54 miles south of
Jacksonville -- the New York of the South, 18 miles from St. Augustine, famous throughout the world as a magnificent
winter resort, and eight miles east of Palatka. A hard-surface road, connecting St. Augustine and Palatka, runs through
the settlement. It is only three miles from the beautiful and expansive St. Johns River, and 17 miles from the Atlantic
"The town has seven general stores, a brick hotel, one bank, two drug stores, two meat markets, a cold storage and ice
plant, one bakery, two large barrel factories, two livery stables, a grist mill, three doctors, one dentist, telephone,
telegraph and express service, water works, sewerage and cement sidewalks; also an electric light plant is in
contemplation. It has a fine school building, managed by an efficient corps of instructors, and a well-attended Union
Church and Sunday School.
Hastings Cotton Fields in Bloom (The St. Augustine Evening Record, June 2, 1911)
Hastings News: The first cotton bloom of the season was brought to town on Saturday, the 27th, by L. H. Epps, manager
of the Ludowici Supply Co's farm. He has 105 acres of as fine cotton as he has ever had the good fortune to raise and
fully a month ahead of any that he has ever planted. Dry at planting time, it was hard to get up, though a good stand
was secured. Once out of the ground, rains came at the right time and the growth has been rapid and now the oldest is
three feet high. Besides that under the care of Mr. Epps, there is 100 acres more, all of which is doing well. Most of this
acreage is planted in short staple, though there are several acres in sea island from the finest seed obtainable.
In July 1911, Jacksonville's Florida Times Union observed that heavy rains had benefited Bermuda onions, corn, and
sweet potatoes in Hastings. By summer, Hastings's potato crop had long been harvested and shipped and farmers
would plow and plant a fall potato crop in several months.
Early in 1915, the newspaper reported that 9,000 acres had been planted in Elkton, Hastings, and eastern Putnam
County. Although a late cold spell moved back the planting season for farmers at Elkton and Hastings, higher prices
offset lighter yields. In late February 1915, one farmer found that his fields had thirteen-inch vines supporting potatoes
the size of guinea eggs and large marbles. Then in April 1915, just before the harvest, G. W. Waller completed a new
potato packing house in Hastings, complete with grading equipment. In early May 1915, the Times-Union reported
that thirty-four rail cars packed with potatoes daily left Hastings's freight depot. That year, Grade No. 1 potatoes brought
$4.00 per barrel and Grade No. 2 potatoes brought $3-00 per barrel. By 2 May 1915, as Hastings's farmers neared the
height of the early potato harvest, growers were still weeks ahead of competitive farmers in the Carolinas. The price of
potatoes climbed later that month. On 18 May 1915, shippers filled 101 rail cars with Irish potatoes with growers receiving
$4.15 per barrel for Grade No. 1 tubers and $3-15 per barrel for Grade No. 2 potatoes
Hastings (A Guide to Florida, 1912)
(54 miles from Jacksonville, pop. 400)
About fifteen years ago it was discovered that the soil of this region, which had been merely the ordinary pine forest,
was peculiarly adapted to the growth of Irish potatoes, which would mature early and complete with the Bermuda
product. Since that time the growth of the potato culture has been remarkable. The small way station, then scarcely
more than a water-tank, has become an animated and prosperous town. The traveler who passes through Hastings in
the spring at the time of the potato digging will even in the short time of the train's stop, seeing an amusing and
characteristic street scene. The need of extra labor at this time attracts to the town great numbers of colored people of
both sexes. They crowd the part of town around the railway station, in picturesque clothes, and in a mood of gayety
which suggests that a jaunt to the potato-digging is for them like a trip to some springtime carnival. Sometimes there are
also the "camp followers" whom one would expect, an occasional quack doctor or an open-air dentist, an itinerate
vendor of tawdry finery, or the wandering proprietor of some small moving-picture show. Such a glimpse of Hastings is
all the ordinary tourist will get. But for the settler or the man more seriously interested in the new agriculture of the South
the important thing is that the potato crop runs in value to $100.00 an acre. It is claimed that cotton can be raised as an
after-crop upon potato land. If this "intensive culture" can be successfully maintained the productive value of the land will
Hastings is the railway station for the small settlement of Federal Point on the St. Johns river, in a fruit growing and
farming district. Small hotel.
Where to Stay in Hastings 1912
Hastings Hotel. J. W. Scaly; capacity, 60; rates - per day, $2.00, per week, $10.00.
Homes' Place, A. M. Homes; capacity, 10; rates - per day, $1.00, per week, $5.00
The Fox House, B. F. Fox; capacity, 10; rates - per day, $1.00, per week, $5.00.
C. C. Robshaw and his wife, Fannie Badger Robshaw, came to Hastings about 1912 from New Hampshire. They bought
a farm south of Hastings and grew early potatoes and later diversified and raised small vegetables for early market. He
was a Mason and she a Past Matron of the Order of Eastern Star. Mr. Robshaw was active in schoool, church and civic
affairs of the town. Their children were Leonard, Leslie, Vernon, Ethel, Frank and Dolly.
U. J. White Died Last Night After Lengthy Illness (St. Augustine Evening Record, February 21, 1917)
Utley James White passed into the Great Beyond last evening, about 6 o'clock. He had been seriously ill for several
months but from each sinking spell he would rally and arouse new hopes for recovery. His condition became critical
during the past two week, and he was moved from his home on Anastasia island to the East Coast Hospital. His life was
undoubtedly prolongued by expert care, and he was kept from suffering. His death was sudden, despite the fact that no
hope was entertained for his recovery. He seemed to be feeling better yesterday and enjoyed his meals. He was
conscious almost up to the last and passed away painlessly.
Mr. White was one of the pioneer residents and developers of this section. He was born at Brockport, N. Y. 72 years
agao and he with his family came to St. Augustine 41 years ago. They located at Tocoi for about a year and Mr. White
during that time laid the iron rails from Tocoi to this city, completing the first railway to serve the Ancient City. Mr. White
also brought the first train to St. Augustine, being in charge of the initial trip of the train from Tocoi. Mr. White and family
moved into St. Augustine and resided here several years before moving to San Mateo, where Mr. White engaged in
logging business. He built the logging railroad from Rolleston to the Tomoka river and this subsequently became part of
the F.E.C. System. Mr. White also was one of the pioneer developers of Ormond, of Hastings and of Dupont. He owned
a large tract at Hastings, then known as Merrifield, and this tract was drained and planted in Irish demonstrating the
worth of the soil at Hastings. Mr. White sold his land in Hastings and turned his attention to Dupont, where he acquired a
vast tract of land. With his usual energy and foresight he devoted himself to the task of making the land produce. He
engaged in farming, turpentining and logging. In 1912 a land company located in Pennsylvania purchased the Dupont
holdings entire and Mr. White retired from active business, oving with his family to St. Augustine. They built a palatial
home on Anastasia island, and also acquired considerable property there, which they proceeded to improve.
Mr. White was not only a keen business man and a great developer, but he was of a most genial disposition and was
esteemed for his many sterling qualities and kindly nature as much as for his integrity and business acumen. St.
Augustine loses one of her formost citizens in the death of Mr. White.
Mr. White is survived by his wife and one daughter, Miss Lilla, also by one sister, Mrs. W. H. Erwin, a resident of
The funeral will be held tomorrow morning at 10:30 o'clock from the family residence on Anastasia island. Rev. I. F.
Hindry, of Trinity Episcopal church, will conduct the services. Moulton & Kyle, of Jacksonville are the undertakers in
charge. The interment will be at Evergreen Cemetery.
Mr. White was a member of Ashlar Lodge, F and A. M., and the Masons will also conduct a service following the church
J. B. Hughes, an early resident of Hastings, was a developer and merchant in this area. In 1917 he erected a large brick
building known as the Hughes Building, on the main street of Hastings. This was the location of the J. B. Hughes and
Company, which was a general merchandise store with a section devoted to hardware, which was managed by D. W.
McElveen. This building was also the location of Mathis Mercantile Company and E. G. Coe Drug Store. Upstairs was the
office of the Hastings Telephone Company and the press room of the Hastings Herald. This building remained in use
until the disastrous fire in Hastings in 1984 when seven businesses were lost. Mr. Hughes' wife was Lilly Brown, daughter
of J. J. and Mrs. Brown. They had one daughter, Mildred, who died as a young child.
E. G. Coe Drug Store
Dr. Egbert George (Bert) Coe moved to Hastings with his family6 in the early years of Hastings' development. Dr. Coe
was a native of Marion, Ohio, and a classmate of President Harding's, who visited the Coe's during his trips to Florida.
Dr. Coe (a pharmacist) established Coe's Drug Store about 1903 and it flourished for many years. Dr. Luke Padgett
(who moved to Hastings from South Carolina) was associated with the drug store.
Coe's Drug Store were Drs. Walton, Raymond King, Pat Joyner, and Frank Chappell.
Dr. Coe moved to St. Augustine and was in partnership with Dr. Stevens in the Stevens and Coe Drug Store on King
Street for several years. Coe returned to Hastings in the 1920's and continued his business until he retired. When Dr.
Coe retired, the town of Hastings presented him with a new Ford car. Dr. Coe was a founding member of the Hastings
Rotary Club and served as its first president. Dr. Coe and his wife, the former Emma Walker, had two children; Dorothy
Scarcity of Potatoes
In 1918 a scarcity of potatoes in northern markets boosted the price to $20 a barrel. Growers in Hastings harvested an
unusually large crop, and buyers and commission men from all parts of the country rushed in and paid cash for their
purchases. So heavy were deposits in the small local bank that the town officials patrolled the streets each night and
remained on duty until armored trucks arrived to transfer the cash to Jacksonville banks.
Hastings Potato Season (The Miami Herald, May 16, 1917)
With the end of the potato season in sight at the last of this week, it is interesting to note that more carloads of spuds
have been shipped out of this section in the last two weeks than have usually been shipped out of the whole state of
Florida in the entire season. In the week extending from April 30 to May 5th, 962 carloads were shipped, and in the week
extending from May 7th to May 13th, 920 carloads in fourteen days, and as stated above, exceeds the usual production
of the entire state during the potato season. The grand total in carloads for this section since the beginning of the
season will be about 3,200 carloads.
HASTINGS ... Population 750. An incorporated town on the F. E. C. Ry. and near St. John's river, in St. John's county,
18 miles south of St. Augustine, the judicial seat. Has a bank, a newspaper, the Herald, a theatre, Baptist and Methodist
churches. Bus connections with St. Augustine and Palatka. Tel., W. U. Telephone connection. Exp., Sou. Charles E.
Bank of Hastings ($15,000), J. B. Hughes, pres., J. W. Case, cashier. [Calculated in 2012 dollars this would equal
Businesses Listed in the Gazetteer:
Barwick, L - railroad and express agent
Burt, R. M. - real estate
Case, J. W. - cashier, Bank of Hastings
Coe, E. G. Co. - drugs
Durkee, E. E. - potato grower
Fox, W. B. - veterinary surgeon
Green, Charles E. - Marshall
Hastings Cash Store
Hastings Cold Storage Co., F. E. Bugbee pres., Frank Nix vice-pres., Don Barstow secy. and manager; meats and ice
Hastings Cooperative Assn. - E. H. Dowdy mgr.
Hastings Development Co. - G. W. Waller secy.
Hastings Pharmacy - C. A. Lattin prop.
Hastings Telephone Exchange (B. L. Brown, F. E. Bugbee)
Hotel Hastings, Hastings Realty Co. - prop. Chas. Silva mgr.
Hughes, J. B. & Co. - genl. store
Humphreys, Harry - restaurant
Johnson, Patrick - dentist
Kettle, Charles E. - postmaster
Kettle & Townsend - barrel mfgrs. and potato shippers
Key, Frank - tailor
Lattin, C. A - physician
Leonardy, George - livery
Levine, Joseph - grocer
Lewis, S. G. - jeweler
Lucas Real Estate Co.
Miles, E. S. - city clerk
Mimms, B. R. - barber
Nix & Bugbee - barrel mfgrs.
Padgett, Benjamin I. - physician
Peck, I. C. - contractor
Ponce, R. A. - undertaker (J. H. Reid, agent)
Seymour, F. Marion - grocer
Silva, W. M. - grocer
Stanton, Gordon - physician
Waller, George W. - insurance agent
Whitehouse Barrel Co. - cooperage
Whitney, Mrs. I. M. - confectioner
Saint Johns Baptist Church (1918)
The Saint Johns Baptist church was part of the National Baptist Convention of the United States of America and part of
the Saint Johns River Baptist Association. It was located in East Hastings on a drit road running on the sectional line
between 28 and 33, north and south of range 9 township 23 1 mile west of State Rd. 189. It was an African American
church. The church was organized in 1918. The building was built in 1918. The first minister was Darling Rivers. In 1937
the minister was Watson
Editorial: Potatoes and Drainage (St. Augustine Evening Record, February 20, 1920)
Practically every farmer in the Hastings Drainage District has long enough in the past three years through damage by
water to pay his drainage tax during his natural life and that of his children. The losses sustained in this section alone
would build a canal sufficient to take off the water from all the potato lands in the State of Florida and furnish
transportation for the entire crop. It would seem that water damage to Hastings potatoes had been sufficiently large and
often enough reported for all of us to have learned the lesson of drainage.
One farmer may drain a small patch without the cooperation of his neighbors, but he cannot adequately drain his entire
farm single-handed and alone, for no matter how good the drainage system of his property may be, he will be flooded
when it rains unless his neighbors farms are drained also. As a district the problem seems to be a simple one, but
without team work and organized effort on the part of the whole community, drainage will continue to be the booger-bear
problem of the Hastings farmers.
The district for drainage purposes has been created by an act of the legislature, the bonds have been sold, and the
property owners have but to pay the taxes and the work, already contracted for and begun, will proceed...
The future of the Hastings planter and his district as a great potato producing section lies in a complete and adequate
drainage system, attainable only through the collection and proper expenditure of drainage district taxes.
Farmers intend to Raise Cane (St. Augustine Evening Record April 5, 1920)
Hastings, Florida, April 3, 1920 -- Marked progress is reported by Capt. H. A. Johns of the United Sugar Corporation, in
arousing the interest of growers in this general vicinity in the establishment here of a sugar industry. Approx 4,000 acres
have been pledged to cane for the coming year, he says, of which 1,000 were pledged in Florahome alone.
Definite reports were not at hand regarding the success being met by other representatives of the sugar corporation
who have been investigating other sections of this State as possible sites for the refinery and factory, but Capt. Johns
seemed inclined to question whether the total inducements offered by those sections could equal those offered by
Palatka and surrounding territory. He expected, he said, that a definite decision as to where the factory would be located
would be received from the corporation's headquarters within two or three weeks, perhaps sooner. Until the decision has
been reached, Capt. Johns and Hubert Buckley, of the same company, expect to remain in Palatka and to continue their
investigations of the possibilities offered by this territory.
HASTINGS TELLS ST. AUGUSTINE SOME RELIEF IS NEEDED (October 21, 1920)
Three Pupils to a Desk and Classes Taught in a Barn
Something about an anti-county division committee ... majority of the St. Johns County board of education plus
Superintendent of Public Instruction D. D. Corbett and some of the most influential residents of the Hastings district
present ... met to hear grievances of the Hastings residents and consider remedies for the problems so farmers may be
content to remain with the mother unit of government.
Some Hastings residents want to secede from St. Johns County "...solely because they believe it is the only way to
obtain the improvements they require, which consist principally of school facilities. Members of the board of trade
committee who were present were unanimous in the opinion that Hastings deserves improved schools, and it is probable
that the St. Johns county delegation to the 1921 legislature, which meets n April, will be asked to enact a local act
authorizing the issuance of interest bearing coupon warrants in sufficient sum to provide the school facilities Hastings
demands. This indebtedness would be carried by the entire county, the school board issuing the warrants and making
the money available as son as the local bill is passed and approved by the governor."
J. W. Case Alone of the leading citizens of Hastings and a member of the board of trustees for the Hastings school
district attended, as did County Commissioner Gladney, who represents Hastings on the BCC. Case said he had
inspected all the schools in the Hastings school district, and that there are 201 pupils in the Hastings graded school. Up
to this year, the principal had also taught 9th and 10th grades, but this year an additional teacher was hired for those
two grades ... however, the two grades still occupied the same classroom because of a lack of classroom space in the
In another school, 38 students use 30 desks ... two students at each single desk and three students to every double
The buildings are wooden and the fire escapes, also wood, need repair ... some of the buildings are veritable
firetraps,according to Mr. Case.
The feeling at Hastings seems to be that county division is the best way to get the improvements we need, said Mr.
Case, but our people are fair-minded. Case also said the school population was increasing rapidly, and the area was
Mr. Gladney said that if the colored schools were not improved immediately, A much valuable farm labor would be lost by
the Hastings district, for the colored families were moving to localities where their children could be property educated.
Gladney also said that the people in Hastings had paid for school supplies many times, but did not think they should
continue to do so while their taxes were only supporting schools in St. Augustine.
Gladney also said one school had no building at all and in another location, white children were being taught in a barn.
The school facilities for the negroes were especially poor, [said Gladney] the East Hastings school (colored) having no
building of its own.
S. C. Middleton presided at the meeting.
Mr. Corbett told those present some interesting history about the St. Augustine school. All had been built with current
expense money teacher warrant funds under the law enabling the school board to borrow money. The board was
paying interest quarterly at 8 per cent when he came into office ... but it was growing larger all the time. One of his first
acts was to have the legislature authorize the issuance of time warrants at a lesser rate of interest, payable
semi-annually, and with this money the old obligation was retired.
Corbett also thought the people in Hastings would be unfair to themselves to build their schools through district taxation,
while the school in St. Augustine was maintained by the entire county. Just as soon as money is available, Corbett said,
he planned to consolidate some of the schools (white and colored). Wants to continue conveying students (who are
higher than 10th grade) from Hastings and other parts of the county to the high school in St. Augustine. Also mentioned
that the Marianna High School only had one teacher but did not say where the school was located.
Harry L. Brown (member, county board of education) assured the people of Hastings that the board understands their
feelings and wants to work with them on a solution. Dr. Lindsley (also on the school board) said that action by the
legislature would be necessary to provide the money required.
In the end, the committee pushed the issue back on the Hastings people, asking them to prepare a statement of the cost
of the school facilities required, as certain from a lawyer just what can be done in the premises and report to the
anti-county division committee.... The school board will then incorporate the report into its own report to the board of
trade, which will be reported to the legislature.
Chairman Middleton told the Hastings people: This meeting is not intended to smooth over things for the moment, but
what you have heard here is sincere. The people of St. Augustine appreciate Hastings and its needs, especially along
educational lines, and we propose to do what we can.
The St. Augustine Evening Record, Thursday, October 21, 1920 [p. 7]:
NEW BUILDING OF McGUIRE FERTILIZER COMPANY WILL BE CREDIT TO HASTINGS
(from Hastings Herald)
A new building ... will be constructed in the immediate future by the McGuire Fertilizer and Phosphate company, to serve
as a combined local warehouse and office. The site chosen is the Dupont property across the railroad tracks, where the
old auditorium and the Stonestreet & Miller garage stood previous to the disastrous fire of last spring.
The building will be 175 feet in length by 100 feet in width and will be of fireproof construction throughout. The frame will
be of steel, with walls of hollow tile and flooring of concrete. The outside will be of stucco and the general appearance of
the building will be of ornamental design that will be made as attractive as possible.
Spur track connections will be made and a new driveway for vehicles constructed, which is planned to lead both to
loading platforms and, over a ramp, to the interior of the building itself.
This building, when completed, will be one of the finest in this section and according to present plans, will be the best
appearing building in Hastings. The company plans to use it as a local storage place for cotton seed meal and other
materials of a similar nature, with the possibility that it may ultimately contain also seed potatoes, farm implements and
other articles needed by the local farmers.
It has been stated by representatives of the company that the building will contain none of the fragrance producers, so
common to fertilizer storage places, and that at no time will passersby find it necessary to make frantic grabs for their
The Hastings Park, at the entrance to Hastings from the north, for many years was used as a meeting place for political
candidates to speak and for band concerts. The park was beautiful with flower beds, a fountain in the center and a white
wooden fence around the area. The gazebo was large enough to hold the band members, and visiting bands from St.
Augustine and Palatka came to Hastings from time to time to furnish entertainment. The gazebo was torn down when it
began to fall apart.
O. T. STONESTREET A. B. MILLER
STONESTREET & MILLER
AUTO REPAIRING BLACKSMITHING
MACHINE WORK WRECKER SERVICE
TIRES AND TUBES -- PREST-O-LITE BATTERIES
PHONES 73 and 85
South Boulevard Hastings, Florida
From the R. L. Polk & Co. 1927 Hastings City Directory
Like us on Facebook
A Load of Hastings Potatoes - May 19, 1915
2 - Fred Flake
4 - C. A. DuPont
5 - Fred Kaiser
6 - Bob Emerson
10 - Louis Levine
14 - G. W. Waller
15 - Ted Glass
17 - Rev. Scading
21 - Woffard Campbell
22 - C. H. Campbell
26 - Mr. Taylor, A.C.L.
30 - J. G. B. Smith
34 - C. A. Campbell
35 - Travis (Peanuts) Chestnut
|Parade to Celebrate Opening of Dixie Highway in Hastings - 1914
Far Left: Newton and Marie Thigpen
|Dixie Highway Celebration 1914
|Christ Methodist Episcopal South, 1916
Front row, third from left, Bill Byrd; back row, 2nd man, Kenneth Brenizer, 34d, H. H. "Hub" Bailey