Return to Department of the South
General Quincy A Gillmore's Staff
Department of the South
General Order Number 48
HDQRS. DEPT. OF THE SOUTH, No. 48. Hilton Head, Port Royal , S. C.,
June l3, 1863.

The following-named officers are hereby announced on the staff of the general commanding, and will
be respected and obeyed accordingly:

Col. John W. Turner, aide-de-camp, and chief of staff.
Maj. Ed. W. Smith, assistant adjutant-general, and commissary of musters.
First Lieut. Israel R. Sealy, acting assistant adjutant-general.
Lient. Col. R. H. Jackson, assistant inspector-general.
Lieut. Col. J. J. Elwell, chief quartermaster.
Lient. Col. M. R. Morgan, chief commissary of subsistence.
Surg. C. H. Crane, U. S. Army, medical director.
Maj. Dwight Bannister, chief paymaster.
Capt. John W. Todd, chief of ordnance.
Maj. James C. Duane, chief engineer.
Capt. John Hamilton, Third U. S. Artillery, chief of artillery.
Capt. T. B. Brooks, aide-de-camp.
First Lient. Henry M. Bragg, aide-dc-camp.
First Lient. Franklin E. Town, chief signal officer.

By order of Brig. Gen. Q. A. Gilimore:
JNO. W. TURNER, Colonel, and Chief of Staff.
General Q. A. Gillmore