Statue was made in Italy in 1906 by an unknown artist. It was not commissioned by Henry Flagler and was not unveiled until three years after his death. The only clue to the origin of the statue is on its base: C. J. R. Rome 1902.
The statue was brought to St. Augustine from Palm Beach by James Ingram who was serving as the President of the Florida East Coast Railroad. On January 2, 1916 at 3 pm the statue was unvelved by Kathleen Maria Gibbs Ingram's granddaughter.
In 1961 the statue was moved to the front of the Alcazar Hotel (then Lightner Museum) Edward Ball wrote that the railroad was giving the statue to be put on permanent display.
In 1972 the statue was moved to Flagler College where it currently rests.
The base of the statue reads: Henry Flagler, Born Jan. 2, 1830 Died May 20, 1913. "In recognition of the achievements in railroad development in the state of Florida and the overseas extension to Key West."
Former Home in St. Augustine's Railroad Station Florida Memory