Return to Dr. Bronson's St. Augustine History

Return to Structure List
The St. Augustine Confederate Memorial
St. Augustine Plaza de la Constitucion
In the beginning the monument was denied by Col Sprague a position on any government property. The
monument was placed on St. George's Street in front of the home of Bishop Verot on May 10, 1872.

Miss Dummett presided over the Ladies' Memorial Association from 1866 until her death in 1899.  The
group included  Mrs. Julia Gibbs, Miss A. Llambias, Miss Lucy Abbott, Miss Isabel Benet, and Miss
Anna Humphrey.

Sister Esther Carlotta, Episcopal Nun:
Although the people of the area were impoverished and still stunned by the scope of the wars devastation,
a few loyal and determined women of the city banded themselves together to accomplish what was to
become their “sacred objective”.

The Ladies Memorial Association of Saint Augustine was founded in September of 1866, just eighteen
months after the end of the war while the city was still under federal military control. They immediately
undertook the task of raising the money needed to erect the monument, which was simply dedicated to
“Our Confederate Dead”.

“The originator of the movement, Miss Anna Dummett was made the first president of the association,
and was never allowed by the other ladies to give up that post. Other members, who were prominent in
the early work were, Miss M. J. Llambias, Miss Lucy Abbott and Mrs. Julia Gibbs, wife of Col. George
Gibbs, Miss Isabel Benet and Miss Anna Humphrey.”

“Raising the money was difficult and mostly in the smallest sums. Often a half dozen or more of the
ladies would contribute, from their meager food supply, the ingredients of a cake, and when it was baked
it would be sold and the money placed in the memorial fund. The ladies did bits of sewing for money;
children practiced for plays to raise money…anything and everything that would bring in a penny for the
monument fund.”

We, who think it hard to raise money for a monument fund today, may well be put to shame by the
example set by these devoted ladies.

THE FIRST MONUMENT
“A loyal confederate, Mr. Joseph Llambias a worker in Coquina and concrete, aided them; he offered to
give all the concrete they needed as soon as they had the money to erect the monument.”

“Then there arose another difficulty: The military governor of the city, Colonel Sprague, objected to the
monument being placed on any city ground. It was through his influence and power that the city council
refused the land necessary for the placing of the monument in the “Plaza”.

“But these southern ladies were soon to surmount that obstacle, for Bishop Agustin Verot told the
Memorial Association that they could place the monument in the yard of his home, it being Catholic
Church property.”

“Work was at once begun and the monument was placed on the East side of Saint George Street, between
Bridge and St. Francis Streets.” (In the area of Cathedral Parish School)

“The monument was completed in 1872, and unveiled on May 10th of that year. It was said that there was
great rejoicing on the part of all southern people of the city.”

This original monument stood on the south side of St. George Street, between Bridge and St. Francis
streets.  It featured a column with a broken shaft, and marble plaques that were removed and used on the
new monument.  This monument was then apparently taken down.

THE SECOND MONUMENT
In 1879 it was rebuilt on a larger scale on the Plaza. It is a 25 foot masonry obelisk.The memorial is a
stuccoed, coquina stone obelisk. It is surrounded by a series of slightly tapered, cast concrete posts
topped by cannon balls and connected by a low iron chain. There are four marble tablets on the obelisk.

In 1883, the ground where the monument stands was conveyed by the city to the Ladies of the Memorial
Association, for a rental fee of one dollar a year for the 99-year lease. The city afterwards donated the
same amount of money to the Memorial Association. In 1890 a lightening strike destroyed the top part of
the monument which was replaced by the cannon ball.

Right side of monument:
They died
far from the home
that gave them birth
by comrades honored
and by
comrades mourned.

Left Side:  (Let us cross over the river, and rest under the shade of the trees.
Last words (May 10, 1863); as quoted in "Stonewall Jackson's Last Days" by Joe D. Haines, Jr. in
America's Civil War)

They
have crossed
the river
and rest
under the shade
of the
trees.

This is a list of the men memorialized on the monument. (front and back)
(names only)

Front
Our Dead.
In Memoriam
our
Loved Ones
Who gave up Their Lives
in the service
of
The Confederate States

Back:
Erected by the
Ladies Memorial Association
of
St. Augustine, Fla.
A.D. 1872
Confederate Monument in the Plaza
Photograph by Gil Wilson
Library of Congress
Florida - Confederate Monument - St. Augustine.
Draped for Gen. Lee
Photographer:
George Barker,  1844-1894,
Date Created/Published: c1891.
Raymond Jenckes Reid
Adjutant, 2nd Florida Infantry
Florida Archives
Name
Where died
Unit
Peter Masters  
Died a Prisoner
St. Augustine Blues
John M. Llambias  
Died hospital at Danville, Ky
St. Augustine Blues
Antonio Mickler
Died Hospital, Richmond Va.
 
Jacob Mickler  
Died in Florida 1864
 
Joseph Noda        
Died in Florida 1864
 
Eusebio Pacetti   
Died in Florida 1864
 
Frank Papy   
Died in Hospital
 
Marine Papy    
Killed, battle Seven Pines 1862
 
Edward Papy    
Captured near Dalton, Ga. died in Fort Deleware Prison
St. Augustine Blues
Bartolo Pinkham        
Died in Fort Delaware Prison
 
Nathaniel Powers
Died in Ford Delaware Prison
 
John Ponce  
Killed Battle of the Wilderness, May 1864
 
Thomas Ponce  
Killed Battle of the Wilderness, May 1864
 
R. Jenckes Reid
Killed Battle of the Wilderness, May 1864
 
Richard Russell
Killed Battle of the Wilderness, May 1864
 
Felix Rante
Killed Battle of the Wilderness, May 1864
 
Henry Bryan
Killed at Petersburg, 1864
St. Augustine Blues
Samuel Buffington
Killed at Petersburg, 1864
 
Napiano Capalla
Killed at Petersburg, 1864
 
Gaspar Capparas
Killed at Petersburg, 1864
 
John Stevens  
Died in Kentucky in 1862
St. Augustine Blues?
Hanaro Triay
Died in Prison
 
James Walton
Died in Prison
 
Frank W. Weems
Died in Prison
St. Augustine Blues
J. Westcott Willard
Killed at Murfreesboro,1863
St. Augustine Blues?
Archibald Gould
Killed at Murfreesboro, 1863
 
Joseph Andreu  
Killed at Murfreesboro, 1863
 
Francis Baya
Died, Johnson's Island Prison
 
Casmiro Benet
Killed Appomattox, 1865
 
Henry Bridier
Died in Hospital, Mobile Ala. 1863
 
Louis Bridier
Died in Hospital, Mobile Ala. 1863
St. Augustine Blues
James Hanson
Died, Prison after Battle Antietam, in 1862
 
William J. Hardee
Died in Prison Hospital
 
James Hurlburt
Died in Prison Hospital
 
Edward C. Humphries
Died in Prison Hospital
 
Jose Irwin
Died in Prison Hospital
St. Augustine Blues
R. Francis Dancy
Died in Prison Hospital
 
Henry G. Dunham
Died in Prison Hospital
 
Abraham Dupont
Killed Chancellorsville, 1863
 
Andrew Floyd
Killed Chancellorsville, 1863
 
Phillip Gomez
Killed Chancellorsville, 1863
 
Antonio Lopez
Died Perryville, 1862
St. Augustine Blues
Alfonse Lopez
Died Perryville, 1862
 
William Dupont
Unknown
 
1872 Monument
State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory, http://floridamemory.com/items/show/54027
Lieut. General Thomas J. Jackson
Library of Congress

Last words on monument
After December 8, 1889
Like us on Facebook
style type="text/css"> @import url(http://www.google.com/cse/api/branding.css);
Custom Search