|Building St. Johns County Roads
Spanish Build Cameo Real
This road (or trail) went from St. Augustine through Picolata to Fort San Luis in Apalache. In 1824 the U. S. Congress
would authorize the extension of this road from St. Augustine to Pensacola but the road in St. Johns County would be
known as the Picolata Road. In 1826 the road would be finished to Black Creek on the west bank north of the old
Picolata ferry. Congress appropriated $23,000 for this road a distance of 375 miles. The command of the work was
given to Captain Daniel E. Burch. In Putnam county this road is part of the Bellamy Road. forming the boundary between
Putnam and Clay County.The road was 16 feet wide made of plank. Bridges were 12 feet wide. John Bellamy, from
Monticello used his slave labor to build the road. It was completed in May of 1826.
British Kings Highway
The oldest commercial road in Florida was built by British Engineers around 1776. When the Americans came to power
the road was shifted to the south by the U. S. Postmaster General to Palatka creating a twenty-five mile longer route.
St. Augustine to Palatka
By 1848 surveyors were recording the St. Augustine to Palatka road. There was also the Palatka trail through the area.
Road Tax Notice (St. Augustine Examiner June 26, 1869)
The laws of 1865 Chapter 1499, Section 8: provides
"That when in any case the road tax imposed by virtue of title 9 Chapter 1st Section 5, and paragraph 1, of Thompson's
Digest, especially for Duval (and St. John's County), has not been paid, and cannot be coerced out of any person liable
thereto, because of inability to find property on which to make the sum of said tax, or any part thereof the Collector
appointed by the Road Commissioners shall proceed to hire out any defaulter therein as hereinafter provided by this
act, and the said Collector shall account to the Road Commissioners for the sum arising from the hire of said defaulter."
In view of the bad condition of the roads and Bridges, the bond Commissioners earnestly call upon all parties, to pay
their Road Tax immediately and where it is not paid the Commissioners will of necessity feel called upon to instruct the
Collector to enforce the foregoing law.
By order of the Board of Road Commissioners for St. John's County.
A. D. Rogero.
Collector of Road Tax.
June 19, 1869
A Bit of History in Connection With the Moultrie (The Times Union, July 1893)
How it might be made a good one
St. Augustine May Get the Post Office Free Delivery System, the Aldermen Having Made a Move toward
Numbering the Houses, Etc.
A gentleman extensively engaged in grape culture at Moultrie called at the St. Augustine bureau today, as he said, "for
the purpose of individually thanking the Times-Union for the interest it has aroused among those people who heretofore
appeared indifferent in the matter of good roads." A little talk with County Commissioner R. J. Oliver who, with Chairman
Bartola Genovar, forms the commissioner's committee to devise means for bettering the condition of the Moultrie road,
leads the Times-Union correspondent into saying that, should not Mr. Reyes through whose land the direct road runs,
object to its re-opening a good, serviceable highway will be immediately made. It should be understood that the road
commissioners appointed by the county board two years ago opened this "direct" road, and the route became so
popular that the new cemetery for the Catholics was gotten into good condition and used in place of the old cemetery in
North City. This "direct" road runs through a pretty hammock for some distance giving a much needed shade; and by-
the-way, a cooling flow of spring water with the convenient cups to refresh both man and beast, broke the monotony of a
drive over five miles of hot, dry, sandy roadway. But, alas, this road, because it did not follow a section line, was shut off
and vehicles had to be dragged over the meandering alleged roads in every direction except that to Moultrie and the
vineyards! When the commissioners opened the "direct" road the Terrys laid out beautiful wide avenues on all sides of
their lovely and profitably vineyards. They also planted water cake and palmetto trees on both side and in the center of
these avenues, making the neighborhood very attractive. Their good work gave other investors an appetite for grapes,
and others purchased (from the Terrys, because their ownings were attractive) and went to work planting grape vines;
and it can be said, almost positively, that had the owners of land, now unproductive, adopted the means followed by the
Terrys, their land today would be as "horns of plenty," and instead of about two hundred acres of grape vines, there
would be a net-work of grape vine trellises from near New Augustine to Moultrie.
Messrs. Oliver and Genovar are considering the propriety of covering the "direct" road with mud from the salt-water
marshes close by, but they still need the consent of Mr. Reyes to cross his land; and as this would divide the tract in the
center, that gentleman would be able to dispose of his land in small tracts to a great profit as it is finely adapted for
grape and vegetable growing.
That the mud would make a most satisfactory road-bed none can deny, as it is now used in maintaining the causeway
crossing Moultrie creek. By properly grading and by giving the road a sufficient "crown" and a light coat of sand it would
be equal, for the amount of traffic, to the best clay.
* * *
In order to aid the city officials in bring Buena Esperanza within easy access to the Matanzas river Postmaster
Dewhhurst is willing to cut a street through his orange grove on the Bay and open up a street -- provided the city will
pave it with some suitable material. Salt marsh mud, Mr. Dewhurst says, is most durable in the absence of asphaltum. It's
astonishing what fine roadways the mud will make, but it must be drained, and that's something unknown in this city
except on the Flagler improvements.
Good Roads Discussed. (St. Augustine Evening Record January 7, 1903)
Accompanied by Senator W. A. MacWilliams, president of the Board of Trade, ex-Senator A. S. Mann, president of the
Florida Good Roads Association, and vice-president of the National Good Roads Association, appeared before the
County Commissioners yesterday, and made a stirring address in behalf of good roads in this county.
The speaker not only impressed the board with the utility of good roads, but brought facts and figures from other
counties in the State to bear out his assertions. After he had finished his speech, he was asked and answered several
questions put to him by the members of the board regarding material, cost, etc.
Foundation Laid for Hard Surface Roads (Florida East Coast Railway Homeseeker, 1910)
We can not permit the action of the Commissioners of St. Johns county to pass by without a few words of commendation
and encouragement. We refer of course, to their recent determination to lay the foundation for hard surface roads
through the county of St. Johns from the Duval county line to St. Augustine, from St. Augustine through Elkton to
Hastings, and south from St. Augustine Dayton toward to the Volusia county line.
The business men of St. Augustine showed commendable enterprise and a generous public spirit when they signed the
$30,000 worth of notes which will enable the commissioners to prosecute this road building work. They know, of course,
that the next Legislature will enact a low to meet the local demand, to wit: the legalization of the issuing of warrants to
take up these notes. At the same time they are also aware of the fact that eventually they will be called upon to pay, in
large part, taxes to meet the cost of these road improvements.
There can be no question but that the judgment of the commissioners in devising this scheme, and that of the citizens in
making it operative, is sound. Good roads, specially hard surface roads, will do more toward the opening up and speedy
development of country land than any other one thing. This statement has been so often demonstrated that it has
become threadbare. Yet no instance has been brought to light to disprove it.
Consider a few instances of the good results from good roads in St. Johns county. A few miles of the country road from
St. Augustine to Hastings are in use. A story in the news columns of this issue tells of the development of a tract of land
a few miles west of St. Augustine, and one of the first improvements will be the building of a half mile of road from the
center of this tract to connect with the St. Augustine-Hastings road.
Another case: Wide-awake Palatkans, after having built a bridge across the St. Johns river, are now improving the road
to Hastings. It is a usual sight to witness several automobiles in a line arriving at Hastings from Palatka. Soon there will
be another string entering the center of the Irish potato industry from St. Augustine way.
The building of the Jacksonville-St. Augustine road will serve the double purpose of opening up a fine agricultural strip
of land to settlement, and a boulevard, and eventually a speedway for tourists motoring up and down the picturesque
The St. Johns County Commissioners have a third project mapped out, namely, the completion of the St. Augustine-
Daytona road. Much work has been done on this improvement in both St. Johns and Volusia counties. So much as to
enable automobiles to make the trial between the two resorts in a very few hours.
Another year or two will work great changes in road work all along the East Coast of Florida from the St. Johns river to
Road Building in St. Johns (East Coast Railway The Homeseeker, 1910)
Thirty thousand dollars is now being spent in surveying, grading and ditching roads in St. Johns county. A few months
ago road construction in this part of the State was practically at a standstill. The commissioners exhausted all funds
available. Much work had been done by means of convict labor and some of the county commissioners were anxious to
About twenty business men of St. Augustine were invited to inspect the work that had been done between St. Augustine
and Jacksonville, and before the tour was ended an informal meeting was held. Committees were appointed and a plan
adopted with the view of continuing the good roads work.
Within a few weeks the business men of St. Augustine endorsed notes to the amount of $30,000 payable to the county
commissioners, with the understanding that the issuance of the necessary warrants would be legalized at the next
session of the legislature for the cancellation of the loans.
With the necessary money in sight the county commissioners of St. Johns resumed operations. Today men are again at
work on the road between St. Augustine and the Duval county line on the Jacksonville road and on the St. Augustine-
Hastings road to the west. This work consists of surveying and clearing the right of way and of ditching and grading for
hard surface roads.
If there is any portion of the $30,000 remaining after this work is done it will be expended in extending the road south
from St. Augustine toward Ormond.
The road from St. Augustine to the Duval county line is well advanced. The distance is about twenty miles. The work has
been finished from Duval county line where it connects with the Jacksonville road through Twelve-mile swamp, toward
the city. Half of it is completed.
A few miles of the Hastings road is ready and this work is now being hurried along. The right of way has been secured
and the survey made.
The necessity for these roads has been recognized for many years, Even with the present unsatisfactory conditions the
thoroughfare between St. Augustine and Jacksonville has been in constant use. During the past winter hundreds of
automobiles made the journey.
The St. Augustine-Hastings road is equally important, as there is a great deal of travel between the two points.
Still Oyster Shell Roads
The construction of the brick-paved Dixie Highway was among the most significant developments in St. Johns County. As
early as May 1913, St. Johns County’s commissioners and St. Augustine’s chamber of commerce had discussed plans
for paving parts of the county’s road system with brick-and-shell, but none of those plans encompassed a county wide
paving program. St. Augustine businessmen and politicians Eugene Masters and A. M. Taylor supported the use of brick
for highways for the entire county, pointing out how St. Augustine’s brick paved streets were relatively maintenance
free. Despite their support, the county commission continued to rely on shell to pave county roads. In January 1914,
twenty railroad cars filled with oyster shells from Melbourne, Florida were shipped to various locations in St. Johns
County to surface the county’s main public roads
Bridge to be a Fine Structure (St. Augustine Evening Record, July 28, 1914)
Will be Well Lighted for Traffic
Reinforced Concrete Structure is Rapidly Nearing Completion and Will be a Credit to Both County and City--To Open in
a Few Weeks.
Work is now moving with a vim upon the new reinforced concrete bridge over the San Sebastian which will connect St.
Augustine and New Augustine. Contractor Seth Perkins is putting up a bridge that will be a credit to both city and county.
For some distance the concrete railing has been placed and the flooring cast ready for the pavement. The gang is
busily at work completing this work on the western end now. The rail is finished in rough concrete and it presents a
Eight fine electric light standards are being erected and the bridge will be a veritable white way. This is quite necessary
in order to provide properly for traffic.
On each side of the roadway is a sidewalk which will be above the roadway. The bridge is a strong structure and will
doubtless be in use for many a decade with slight repair.
Paving the John Anderson Highway
In January 1914, the county advertised bids for “paving the ‘John Anderson Highway’ from the Duval County line to the
North City limit of St. Augustine...and...the County Road from Hastings to the Volusia County line..., a total of 64 miles.”
A. F. Harley, county engineer for Duval County, assisted St. Johns County with preparing its bids specifications. The bid
request included the general specifications of “asphalt macadam, concrete, vitrified paving brick, or other suitable
material, nine feet wide, from outside to outside of four by ten inch concrete curbing, the width of the curbing to be
included in the paved portion of the road...” The contractors were required to conduct the paving work at three points in
the county simultaneously, and at each point pave at least one mile per month. Six companies responded to the bid
request: W. H. Cochran Company, Everett P. Maule Company, Seth Perkins & Sons, Southern Asphalt & Construction
Company, Wilson Construction Company, and C. S. Young Construction Company. Led by its chairman, I. I. Moody of
Bunnell, the county commission awarded a bid for $527,155.20 to the J. Y. Wilson Construction Company of Jacksonville
to pave the public road with brick in February 1914. The county reserved an additional $26,844.80 for engineering fees
associated with developing the road. The county commission retained the J. B. McCrary Company of Atlanta for
engineering and design work on the highway in June 1914.
Good Roads, Progress and Prosperity
Using the banner of “Good Roads, Progress, and Prosperity,” rallies were held in Hastings and St. Augustine. Business
officials encouraged St. Johns County’s residents to vote for the road bonds. F. O. Miller of the Jacksonville Board of
Trade and local school officials delivered brief addresses at St. Augustine’s “brick road rally” in the downtown plaza.
Enacted by a voter referendum by an overwhelming majority of 822 to 432
in April 1914, the county’s road bonds amounted to $650,000. Only the residents of the Diego, Elkton, and New
Augustine precincts had majorities who voted against the bonds. In Bunnell, the vote was eighty-seven to two for the
measure and in Espanola all eighteen eligible voters approved the bonds (St. Augustine Record, 30, 31 March, 1, 2
Brick Paving Begins at Once (St. Augustine Evening Record, August 19, 1914)
Five million brick ready as a starter
Contractors Wired to Begin Work
Bond Houses fell down on Mr. Heard but he took bonds, anyhow --Grading Equipment is ordered
Work will begin upon the actual paving of St. Johns county's main highways with brick within a month and very probably
within fifteen days. The engineering work preliminary to the actual paving will doubtless begin by next Monday at the
Following the final transfer to J. J. Heard of Jacksonville of the bonds and the receipt from him of the $650,000 voted by
the taxpayers of St. Johns county last spring, the commissioners met in special session yesterday afternoon and
completed the final details. Telegrams were sent by Clerk W. Wallace Snow to the McCrory Engineering Company of
Atlanta, holding the engineering contract, and the J. Y. Wilson Construction Company of Jacksonville, paving
contractors, that the funds are available and directing that the work begin.
Construction (Bunnell Home Builder, June 1914)
Most of the brick was delivered to the road sides by trains operating on adjacent rails, but for the stretch of road
between Hastings and Espanola, Wilson reported that mule teams would be used to haul the brick in the event that the
railroad would not be available in that area. Initially, the county ordered the Wilson Company to
divide its brick crews into three sections: one to start at the Duval County line and pave south to St. Augustine; another
crew to start at Alligator Branch southeast of Bunnell and work north beyond Bunnell and north of Espanola; and the
third crew to begin at Byrd and work through Hastings, Elkton, Spuds, and St. Augustine. Several weeks later, however,
to reduce costs and speed construction, the county commission altered its paving locations for the highway, placing the
emphasis on the stretch of road between the Duval County line and St. Augustine, and from Byrd to Hastings, Elkton,
Spuds, and St. Augustine. In August 1914, Wilson ordered 5,000,000 bricks for the highway north of St. Augustine, in
addition to a road scraper, grader, and roller. The county agreed to supply an eighteen-berth portable steel convict
cage to transport inmates to grade the roads while Wilson’s crews laid the curbs and brick. Even before construction
began, the commission ruled that no truck over five tons could operate on the new highway "unless its wheels are extra
Making Splendid Progress on Highway Paving Work (St. Augustine Evening Record, January 4, 1915)
When the road gangs knocked off work Saturday night on the John Anderson highway between St. Augustine and the
Duval county line, there were two stretches of uncompleted paving. What is known as the north end gang, which is
working between Woodland and Sampson had just one and nine-tenths miles to complete. The south end gang working
just beyond Magnolia, had one and two-tenths miles to finish.
Prominent Hoosier Good Roads Men visit This City (St. Augustine Evening Record, January 21, 1915)
St. Augustine was honored Wednesday by a visit from two very prominent citizens of Indianapolis, Ind. They were Carl
Fisher, president of the Presto Light Company, who has a palatial winter home at Miami, and W. S. Gilbreath, secretary
of the Hoosier Motor Club. These gentleman are the prime movers in the great plan for the building of what will probably
be known as the Dixie highway, extending from Chicago to Miami. They are now on an educational tour making stops at
many important points along the proposed routs. Starting from Miami a few days ago they have gradually worked their
way up the east coast and expressed themselves as greatly pleased with the wonderful progress that has been made all
along the John Anderson highway, which is the Florida east coast section of both the Miami to Montreal highway and the
proposed new route to Chicago.
On arriving in St. Augustine the Messrs Fisher and Gilbreath called on Secretary Ridder of the Chamber of the
Commerce who conducted them on a tour of the highways in and about St. Augustine. They went out on the John
Anderson highway about ten miles north of the city, over the Lewis speedway and a few miles southward. This was the
first visit of Mr. Gilbreath to St. Augustine, and he was more than interested in and pleased with all that he saw....
Over 700 Attend Big Barbecue in Bunnell (St. Augustine Evening Record, January 30, 1915)
Eloquent Addresses Delivered
First Brick Laid
Barbecue Tops Off Enthusiastic Celebration -- Gathering a Boost for Good Roads
Bunnell, Fla. Jan 30 - Between seven hundred and one thousand people gathered in Bunnell today in response to this
city's invitation to join in the celebration of the laying of the first brick on this section of the John Anderson highway.
Eloquent addresses by noted speakers followed by the laying of the first brick and ending with a regular old fashioned
barbecue, made it a great day. Dancing was enjoyed by the young people in the afternoon and evening. From
Jacksonville and Daytona and all the country between came the crowds and enthusiasm for good roads was aroused in
a high pitch.
Besides many coming by automobile a crowd from St. Augustine arrived on parlor car train No 33 over the Florida East
Coast Railway at 11:45 o'clock, accompanied by Spice's Royal Venetian Band which rendered a splendid musical
program during the exercises.
The exercises then began. Judge W. C. Heath, mayor of Bunnell delivered an eloquent welcome address to the visiting
throngs. He was followed by Col. W. A. MacWilliams, General Manager Morton Riddle of the Flagler System former
Mayor Eugene Masters of St. Augustine J. I. Council of Bunnell and E. F. Warner of the St Johns Development Company
of St. Johns Park, all speaking with force and eloquence.
While hundreds looked on Dorothy, the little daughter of Mr. and Mrs. I. I. Moody, took a brick in her hands and laid it on
the graded roadbed.
The barbecue was enjoyed by everyone. Tables were stretched along the street and were loaded heavily with good
things to eat the famous 'cue especially appearing in abundance.
I. I. Moody was in charge of the arrangements and he was backed by the hospitable people of Bunnell it was a great day
for the little city.
Bunnell Stands for Progress (St. Augustine Evening Record, February 1, 1915)
Brick paving marks another decided forward step.
Wonderful Growth and Development of the Southern Portion of St. Johns County.
Saturday's gathering at Bunnell was an impressive revelation. There probably were eight hundred people in that
gathering assembled for the purpose of witnessing the laying of the first brick on the Bunnell section of the John
Anderson Highway and to celebrate such an important event. Bunnell was in gala attire for the occasion and of course
added interest was given by the presence of Spica's Royal Venetian band which organization is playing daily concerts in
the Plaza at St. Augustine. The band was present at the invitation of the people of Bunnell and by permission of the St.
Augustine Chamber of Commerce. Bunnell played the role of host to perfection under the guiding hand of Chairman I. I.
Moody of the board of commissioners of St. Johns county. The speech making took place from the platform of the
Florida East Coast Railway station. Judge Heath acting as master of ceremonies and delivering a splendid address of
welcome in which he pictured the great growth and development of Bunnell. He introduced E. F. Warner of St. Johns
Park who had a vast fund of information about the resources of the southern end of St. Johns. General Manager Morton
Riddle of the Florida East Coast Railway, who came down with the big delegation from St. Augustine, was prevailed upon
to address the gathering. He expressed his pleasure at the welcome given the visitors and the evidence of the
progressive spirit of the people of Bunnell. In connection with the great highway paving undertaking Mr. Riddle stated
that it had been a pleasure to the railroad company to be able to give the county the benefit of lower freight rates on
paving material, thus stimulating progress and development. He also assured the people of Bunnell of a real interest on
the part of the railroad company in the growth and prosperity not only of Bunnell but of the entire east coast section. Mr.
Riddle's talk made a decidedly favorable impression and tended to further cultivate a spirit of good will and cooperation.
Former Mayor Eugene Masters of St. Augustine, noted as one of the leading spirits in the roads movement since its
inception years ago, paid special tribute to the memory of John Anderson for whom the east coast highway has been
named, referring to Mr. Anderson as the originator of the great plan for a highway all the way from Jacksonville to Miami.
Colonel W. A. MacWilliams stressed the fact that the celebration at Bunnell was largely due to the wisdom displayed by
the county commissioners of St. Johns in handling the bond issue and presenting the whole situation in such a way that
the voters were convinced they would receive full value for every dollar voted.
Following the speech making came the ceremony of laying the first brick. President J. V. Wilson of the Wilson
Construction Company had arranged in advance for the preparation of a long section of graded road on the Moody
boulevard, that section of the John Anderson highway extending from Bunnell to what is known as the Green Island road
leading to the Volusia county line, a distance of about seven miles.
Additional Improvements on John Anderson Highway (St Augustine Evening Record, February 11, 1915)
The concrete bridge across Durbin creek on the John Anderson highway being built by Everlata Rogero was completed
Wednesday when the macadam asphalt flooring was laid. Time will be given. However, for the material to harden, and it
is not likely the bridge will be open for traffic for at least a week in the meantime the temporary bridge will continue in use.
The Wilson Construction Company is also putting in a concrete culvert across the Atwood ditch just north of Magnolia.
This work will be completed in a few days and both the bridge and the culvert will be thrown open to the public certainly
by the end of next week. The completion of these two structures will mean that on the John Anderson highway between
St. Augustine and the Duval county line there will be no wooden bridges, all of these having been replaced with either
concrete structures or the conduits making the brick highway a model in this respect.
The county road done under Foreman Pacetti has reached the top of Durbin Hill in the work of spreading the shell and
sand left by the excavation of the new highway, and this work will be continued on into St. Augustine. The only complaint
about this is that it is not being pushed energetically enough to facilitate the heavy traffic that is now passing over the
In Duval county just south of the St. Johns county line, where there are four miles of mill hoggings, a gang of convicts
has been at work for the past two or three weeks making temporary improvements by grading and ditching so that the
road is in very fair condition, and there is no trouble whatever in automobiles.
The nine miles of shell road from South Jacksonville to where the brick begins in Duval is being reworked Road surfaces
have loosened the shell surface and steam rollers are rolling this to a new grade so that when the work is completed
Duval will have a splendid piece of shell road.l It is understood that some bind or material may also be applied to keep
down the dust and prevent the waste of material that always is connected with a shell road where no binder is used.
Reckless Driving Signs Are Posted (St. Augustine Evening Record, Feb 25, 1915)
Frank J. Parker has placed three signs on the Jacksonville St. Augustine brick road, warning autoists to slow up when
meeting vehicles. The signs are 8 by 10 feet and show up very conspicuously. One was placed at the county line, one
about half way between this city and the county line and the other near this end of the road. The county furnished the
signs and Mr. Parker erected them without charge. No speed limit is designated by the signs for any class of vehicles,
but they convey a warning against reckless driving. Those violating the warning are liable to arrest.
Volusia Plans to Meet St. Johns With Brick Highway (St. Augustine Evening Record, February 27, 1915)
If present plans are carried out, Volusia county will meet St. Johns county with a brick highway at the county line and will
extend the highway to Daytona, thence to Deland and on to the Seminole county line. A brick paved road extends from
there to Sanford and on towards Orlando so that when all is complete the St. Johns system will be part of a one hundred
and seventy-mile stretch practicality all paved with brick.
County Commissioner A. H. Faver, T. L. Wolfe at the McCleary Engineering Company, and Frank J Parker autoed over
to Jacksonville in Mr. Parker's car Friday. There they met Chairman E. W. Bond of the Volusia county board of
commissioners and went to the Wilson Construction Company's curb plant where the cement curbing for the St. Johns
county highway and other road contracts is made. After inspecting that the party returned to St. Augustine and went to
Hastings where Mr. Bond saw the paving work being done. He was splendidly impressed with the work St. Johns is doing
and freely discussed the plans for paving in Volusia. If the bond issue is carried, as seems probable, work will begin
soon after on the highways in that county connecting with the St. Johns road.
What happened to the John Anderson Highway?
The John Anderson Highway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine and south through St. Johns county became part
of the Montreal Miami Highway and later the Dixie Highway. There were sixty miles of brick highway in St. Johns County,
running from one end of the County to the other. In Flagler county the John Anderson Highway name still exists.
Building of Paved Roads (St. Augustine Evening Record, 1917)
Zero Milestone (1929)
The Zero Milestone is a coquina sphere 20 feet in circumference. It was placed by the St. Augustine Historical Society
and Institute of Science and erected and dedicated in 1929 by the Exchange Club to mark the beginning of the "Old
Spanish Trail" that would extend from St. Augustine to San Diego, California. This was a publicity gimmick to make a
"historic" trail across America. The milestone itself has been moved to many locations in St. Augustine from its original
site on Fort Marion circle between Bay Street and the City Gates to various locations around the city civic center.
The Dixie Highway Added to the U. S. National Register of Historic Places
On April 20, 2005 the original brick Dixie Highway southeast of Hastings near Flagler Estates was added to the U. S.
National Register of Historic Places.
San Sebastian Bridge Completed (The St. Augustine Record February 21, 2013)
Construction on the San Sebastian Bridge was completed Sunday. The Florida Department of Transportation finished
right on schedule, said FDOT spokeswoman Laurie Sanderson. The cost to replace the 51 year bridge was $13.5
million. There will be a ribbon cutting ceremony at 10 a.m. Friday to celebrate the completion of the project.
|B. Genovar as County Commissioner
of St. Johns County was the most
visionary politician of his day. His
legacy is still with us
The original investment in 1910 of $30,000 is worth $731,707.32 in
2012 dollars with adjustments for inflation.
Like us on Facebook